A Fresh Start for 2012

I used to be a happy member of Bodybuilding.com.  It was a fun site where you could set up a profile and then talk back and forth with people about your adventures in the gym.  Members traded advice, encouragement and tales of sore muscles.  It was a fantastic source of motivation and inspiration for me and many others.  Unfortunately, in the name of upgrading the site, the powers that be decided to remove all conversation from the public sphere.  You were still able to talk to other members but only in private…off the grid.  It certainly was a decision that changed the whole tone of the place.  Public conversation IS the essence of social networking!  On top of that they decided to remove the most interesting, compelling personal information from the front page of the profiles….people’s reasons for going to the gym, how they got started, their motivation etc.  Now the BodySpace profile pages are about as flat and interactive as a magazine page.  Not much there to keep me interested.  I decided to set up my own blog in the hopes that some of my friends from there might stop by to see me here and that I might meet some new people that have an passion for fitness too.

22 responses

  1. I found you on bb.com, so glad to find you have a blog! I’ve been looking for other women my age who prove you can be fit and muscular and 50. Are you aware of other sites or blogs that are inspirational like yours? Thank you for doing this!! The 40 and 50-somethings of the world need your encouraging words. 🙂

    1. So glad you enjoyed the blog. It’s been a fun, new avenue of expression for me….something new for the new year! I have a friend from bb.com (she’s kltexas there) She started a webpage that I checked out a few months ago and enjoyed. The link is on her page…she’s a 40’s something mom, two children and a VERY fit woman. She was a competitor and she’s a personal trainer. That might be a good place to look. I agree, it’s so nice to find some other women (and men) who still have that “work and play” spirit!!

  2. I don’t usually comment but I gotta admit regards for the post on this special one : D.

    1. Thank you…glad you stopped by!

  3. I rattling delighted to find this internet site on bing, just what I was looking for : D too saved to my bookmarks .

    1. Glad you enjoyed the post….

  4. Good thread.. I had to scan it twice to comprehend it all though, haha!

  5. Hi Dr.,

    I came to check out your new site. Looks great just like you. I have to read everything to get caught up. Fellow bodybuilidng site friend.

    1. Yay! I’m SO happy to see you. I’ve not abandoned bb.com entirely but I don’t get there quite as often. Really glad you came to see me here!

  6. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

    1. Very glad you enjoyed reading it! I’m having a lot of fun with this new blog.

    2. Well thank you! Delighted that you enjoyed it. Wishing you a most wonderful day!

  7. Hi Lynn, Glad you’re ok. You know us old Marines, we’re great followers. Hope you and the boy’s are enjoying the real Blessings from God.

    1. Yay! You found me. I’m SO HAPPY! I’ve been having a horrible time trying to navigate bb.com. The update made it so hard to answer comments there. Half my friend’s pages won’t load at all so I’m really feeling cut off. I’m not going to leave. I’m hoping they make some fixes so it’s easier to use and I’d LOVE for them to put comments back on the profile pages and make the photos bigger…I have to squint to see those little things! Makes my heart happy that you came to see me here! Thank you….and God Bless You…you’re a wonderful friend!

  8. Christopher ( bodyspace KEEPNFIT ) | Reply

    This is very nice and like you I don’t understand the bodyspace changes. And you are right about the brain exercising, I’m constantly trying to learn something new. Talk to you soon..

    1. I’m laughing…don’t know quite how this place operates yet. Just found out you left a comment. I saw a reply button…pushed it and here we go. Hope you get this and I’ll double check on bb.com. gracias…see, I’m learning something!

  9. I am an official member of the most awesome spider monkey fan club…I might follow you anywhere! Hmmm, is that creepy?

    1. Not creepy…makes me happy! Really pleased that you stopped by to see me here!

  10. Big dawg visiting your porch. Woof!

    1. Makin’ the chihuahua happy! Glad you stopped in!

  11. I feel your pain and I’m with you… It’s a terrible update and they pretty much killed the social networking part, which was the only reason I used the site.

    1. Me too, I didn’t really use the stat tracker or the forums. I keep sending notes to admin. Hopefully they’ll listen. I won’t leave there completely but it’s very hard to communicate with people there. For some reason it takes me forever to load the comment page and to answer people…plus lots of folks aren’t accessible by search engine anymore so if they haven’t left me a message recently that I can click on to get to their page, I have no way of reaching them. Ick! What an update….

Leave a Reply

