Leg Day Workout – Tale of the Serious Squats

Stick legs were improved by doing squats...regular AND Jumping Squats...

My leg workout is a little less than traditional. I tried for years to get my legs to respond without incorporating regular and jump squats. I always worked very hard but didn’t see the results I wanted. My bird legs just wouldn’t grow. Finally (with the bossy….I mean, sweet encouragement of a certain muscled-up Marine) I had to man up. I started squatting and saw a marked difference. I added jump squats and saw an even bigger difference. While this is a sample of one of my workouts, I often do regular and jump squats on the same day. Once in a while for an added boost, I’ll do one set of regular squats then one set of jump squats, just alternating between the two. On those days, I’ll usually drop the lunges or just do them with bodyweight.

  • Cardio: 30 min steady state on Stairmaster
  • Walking lunges: 80 consecutive steps bodyweight only (on days you want more of a challenge, hop up from the lunge instead of keeping your feet on the ground), 40 consecutive steps with moderate weight (holding dumbbells), 2 sets of 20 with heavy weight (holding dumbbells).
  • Jumping Squats: 6 sets – 5 add sets of 20, 15, 10, 8, 6 reps and 1 moderate set to failure
  • Stiff-legged deadlifts: 4 sets 8-10 reps
  • Standing Calf Raise: 5 sets 10 reps

When doing the jumping squats I start off with low weight (30lbs) and high reps (20) and gradually move up to heavy weight (100lbs) and lower reps (6).  I find my body appreciates the warm up sets…

Here is a link to a VERY high quality video of my jumping squats  http://youtu.be/a3AFSG15joA

Not the easiest things in the world but squats are EFFECTIVE!

20 responses

  1. nice legs, wow…

    1. Thank you!! Those squats really work….if you can live through them…smile….

  2. Great technique for jumping squats and a great video for a few reasons 🙂 UROCK DL…

    1. Why THANK YOU!! See how I look in the gym?…hopping around like a frog…

  3. Great form on your jump squats. Might have to include that in my workout. Also can’t believe you sound so sweet and personable. Yeah, with all that muscle I expected you to sound gruff with all them steroids you be taking. LOL! j/k of course…. 😉

    1. Try them…they look easier than they are. I like them because they work!

  4. yeah……………..rock it.

    1. Woo hoo!! I’m a video master. Lol…

  5. Yep. Squats will do it, every time.

    I’ve been going to the gym for only a few weeks, and already my legs are transforming, pretty much as I watch, from flabby disaster area (long skirts only!) to rock hard muscle zone. I’m not kidding. And yes, I thank the legwork I’m doing.

    1. Isn’t it amazing how quickly our bodies adapt! Sure helps us to keep going when we see good results. Nice work!

  6. My knees are shot, but I do regular squats with DBs because it also works on my grip strength as well. You come to Hawaii and I’ll video a workout for you to post on YouTube!

    1. Yeah! A workout video on the beach. I used to watch a great show…can’t remember the name of it but it had some good looking men/women working out on different beaches. I never did the exercise, just watched them do it! Lol…

  7. I like your lunge routine a lot, Lynn. I wish I had more room in my home gym to do consecutive lunges….if the weather stays nice, I’ll take my lunges to the street! Ha.

    1. Taking it to the streets! I hear the Doobie Brothers…smile. Yeah those can sure be done outside.

  8. Very nice tip on the jump squats…Awww..you look so cute on the video…Was that you on the video? Your voice was sweet too..matches your personality of what I expected…keep up the good work!

    1. Yep! That was yours truly! Thank you. Happy Sunday!

  9. esteban yoyome | Reply

    awesome im still hurtin from fri leg work out feels good

    1. Me too! I actually worked them on Friday but had my son with me in the gym to video yesterday. Was very hard to do those for the demo because my legs were so tender!

  10. Awesome demonstration, I might try it after I recover…

    1. Those things are hard but I really like them. Still sore today from my squats on Friday. Did the video yesterday and just did those for the demonstration. I was so sore I almost couldn’t do them but it’s rare I have a videographer (my son) available in the gym…ha!

Leave a Reply

