Art As Inspiration…or Boris, Jay and Me

People often ask me how I started on this fitness journey of mine.  One of the first influences I can remember came from an unlikely place.  When I was a teenager I was a voracious reader.  I read anything and everything but I loved adventure novels the best.  One day while thumbing through the paperbacks at a local bookstore I found the Conan the Barbarian series.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading the novels but it was the artwork on the covers that stayed with me and moved me in the direction of sculpting my body using weights.  The cover illustrations on the books in the series were created by an artist named Boris Vallejo.  It was the first time I saw any of his work but certainly not the last. 

As compelling as the paintings of his male figures were, it was the images of the women in his art that captured my imagination.

The women were beautiful to me.  They were curvaceous, strong, muscular and incredibly attractive.   At the time I had no idea how to get from the tiny 94lb person I was to anything close to what those women represented but I knew without a doubt that it was a look I loved.  I didn’t have any real women in my life who remotely resembled Boris’ women but just seeing them in paintings made an indelible impression. 

I recently received a note from another artist telling me that I inspired one of his pieces.  His name is Jay Valintino. He’s a successful bodybuilder and an obviously talented airbrush artist.

Lucky me…I was inspired by an artist and I managed to inspire one.  It’s one of those fun circle in life.  It puts me in the mood to give back.  To create something beautiful of my own. 

Honest to goodness it gives me a happy tingle to think that a piece of art I created could inspire someone on a path to sculpting a fantastic physique.  It feels good to give back!

4 responses

  1. What an incredible Artist you are Lynn.

    1. Oh..thank you. I have to say I don’t often display my artistic talents that way but I have lots of hidden skills!

  2. Great read! These images speak to me as well. I am surprised that I never thought deeply about the representation of the female physique in art. Magazines/ tv/ movies…sure…its thrown in our face daily, but art is a new scope for me. I look forward to following your blog!

    1. Thanks for the nice note. When I was younger, I didn’t have examples of fit/muscular women around me. Nobody I knew went to the gym but those images that Boris Vallejo painted really had an effect on me. I still like looking at his artwork. Lucky for me he was very prolific…he often created with his wife Julie Bell. She is an amazing artist as well.

Leave a Reply

