Try Something Out of the Ordinary

Now and again it’s good to try something new.  I’m a true gym rat and love spending time inside lifting weights and training hard.  Some people could never imagine getting pleasure out of such a thing but I certainly do.  Still, after so many years of doing the same thing it’s invigorating to give something else a go.  Not too long ago we took a family trip to the mountains.  It was incredibly beautiful and we thought it would be a good idea to try a hike.  Now I like walks, strolls around pretty ponds or along lovely beaches but a serious high altitude (above timberline) hike is something I don’t take on very often. 

Here are the boys…getting ready for our high mountain adventure

The boys were game so we set out at a brisk pace.  We reached the peak and the view was worth the labor of getting to it!  It wasn’t easy.  It was challenging, a serious cardio workout but very gratifying in the end.  We stood up there for quite a while enjoying feeling like we were on top of the world.  Our out of the ordinary activity didn’t stop there. We hiked down the mountain then got in the car to drive back to where we were staying.  Halfway there the boys insisted they were starving to death.  They explained that they weren’t kidding and they assured me they were about to meet their maker.  The little one said something about his eyesight going dim. I offered to share my tuna in a pouch and wheat crackers with them but they thought that was actually a bit worse than impending death.  We passed a Burger King and their cries became more strident and pathetic.  I did something I never do.  I pulled in the parking lot and in we went.  Now since they don’t often get fast food, my older boy wasn’t sure what to order.  He looked the menu over and then asked the guy behind the counter if one of the specialty burgers was good.  The man replied “Yeah, that’s a good burger.  It’s the only one that’s 100% beef.”  There was a long pause and then my son asked what the other burgers were made of.  The man stammered, clearly uncomfortable and said “Well those are 99% beef.”  Yeah, right!  The expression on my son’s face was priceless.  He was horrified.  I’m sure there were all kinds of things he was surmising had been mixed in with the beef.  Now, my little boy couldn’t care less.  He was dancing around happy as a clam and got a Whopper meal.  According to him, everybody he knew dined at Burger King and they weren’t dead. That was good enough for him.  The older one ended up ordering a shake and fries and waiting to eat until we got home.  He swore in the car that he’d never eat at Burger King or McDonalds again…and I believe him.  He’s a good athlete, trains hard and has started watching what he puts into his body for fuel (which isn’t to say he doesn’t like treats now and then).  As we pulled out of the parking lot I laughed to myself.  One of our out of the ordinary adventures was a fantastic new experience and one of them that day wasn’t so fantastic but was still a great learning experience for my older son….the little one told me his food was delicious and that he couldn’t wait to go back.  Ah well…one lesson at a time….

A little celebration at the top…

6 responses

  1. Just wanted to stop by and say I’ll talk to you next week. Leaving O dark early for the rest of the week. Be Blessed Lynn. You know how to reach me if you need to 🙂

  2. Nice post, glad to hear about your experience. We are heading out on a mountain vacation next Thursday and looking so forward to the time away. My sister wants us to climb a mountain, I don’t know. 🙂

    1. Did you climb that mountain? Hope you had a great time!

  3. Nice to hear from you on BB this morning. What beautiful picts. God really knows how to create beautiful sights. Have a Blessed day Lynn

  4. Awesome post! I’m glad nothing in my life is ordinary… WooHoo!!!

    1. Hi Al! How are things going? I’ll bet the 4th is a busy time for you…hope you have the day off and if you don’t I sure hope it’s quiet!

Leave a Reply

