Reason # 423 To Stay Fit (You Never Know Who You Might Meet)

Years ago I was on a flight to see extended family.  I remember being so happy that the plane wasn’t full since that meant that as soon as the Captain turned off the Don’t-Even-Think-About-Undoing-Your-Seatbelt sign I was able to move out of my crowded row of seats and down a few rows where I had three seats all to myself.  I plopped down into the aisle seat, flipped up the armrest next to me and settled in for a lovely flight.  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one with that idea because just a few moments later a man came  by and set up shop right across the aisle from me.  After a while I started to grow wiggly and bored. I guess he did too because we struck up a conversation.  Turns out we both enjoyed exercise (at that time I was training for a 5k….yes, I have to train to run that far…stop laughing).  He had been a runner and had some advice on how to get my time down.  Somehow it came up that he was a writer.  He said he wrote under the pen name R.J. Jagger. I remember thinking  it was nice that he had a book or two published.  I didn’t know it at the time but he was actually a very prolific author and had dozens of titles to his name.  He gave me his email address and I promised to let him know how I did in my race.  I did so and over the next couple of years we exchanged email updates about new exercise regimens and he’d write to tell me when he had a new book coming out. 

Not long ago he sent an email asking if I was still in decent shape.  I laughed and wrote back that I was still enjoying my time in the gym so I thought I was at least in acceptable shape.  He said he had a new book in mind ( a mystery/thriller) and if I wanted to submit some photos and they fit the theme, he’d like to use my image for advertisement.    I thought that was a fine offer and set out with my camera and timer to capture a photo I thought would work. 

Turns out he liked a couple of the  photos I sent and not only did he use one of them to advertise for his current book  A Way With Murder, he also put me on the cover of another of his books called Fatal Prey.  That’s right!  I’m a covergirl.  Hey!  Who said “So is Lassie?”  I heard that…

“In a throwback to the literary era of Mike Hammer and Shell Scott, Denver private investigator Bryson Wilde lives in and edgy 1950’s world where the women are dangerous, cigarettes dangle from ruby-red lips and the nights are hotter than whiskey-soaked jazz.”

“San Francisco homicide detective Nick Teffinger frantically hunts for an elusive killer who is poised to take the next victim by the end of the week.”

If you like mystery/thriller novels you can check out R.J. Jagger’s other works here http://www.rjjagger.blogspot.com/

9 responses

  1. I love the picture with you in the chair,its sexy, but more than anything, just bad ass! well done.

  2. u never know covergirl u r

    1. Aw….thank you! How are your workouts going? The boys are back in school so it’s back to my normal routine…I pop in the gym for a little while on school day mornings…

  3. Well, I see we’re gonna have to work on your grip for starters. Just kidding. I think its awesome how God has Blessed you. Great job Lynn.

    1. Ah…made me laugh! See…I told you I didn’t know what I was doing with that thing! Happy Monday beautiful Mess!!

  4. WOW!!!! Just amazing, you know I love guns!!! 😉

    1. Yes!! I don’t actually fire that thing. I still have mine locked up since I haven’t taken my lessons yet. I just like rifles…

  5. That is greatttt Lynn…So happy for you…Wow..guns holding a gun…LOL…you look great on the photo…amazingly beautiful and awesome physique…always thought that you have…even greater..pure beauty my friend…keep it up…trying to get there myself…need to catch up with you…lol

    1. Artie! Thank you…what a very nice note! Really appreciate the kind feedback. I’ve really been having a good time in the gym lately….actually had a fun time there this morning doing…wait for it….SQUATS! Lol…I didn’t do that many but I did a ton of walking lunges holding weights. Hope you’re enjoying your workouts too!

Leave a Reply

