Veteran’s Day 2012

Sometimes the words I want are right at my fingertips and sometimes they elude me.  I end up playing a game where I chase my own thoughts which tease me from just around the corner but when I arrive where I last heard them laugh they’ve gone running joyfully into the mist.  Suffice it to say that my best and most eloquent expressions are playing hide-and-seek with me this morning.

That being said, I wanted to offer some words in honor of Veteran’s Day.  The words are something like thank you but better, more powerful, more meaningful and much less often used.  I have a deep love and appreciation for my country and the philosophical foundation it rests on. By extension I carry a profound gratitude for those who have risked everything to fight for, win and keep those ideals alive, for themselves, their families and all the rest of us.  The battles have been many and terrible and yet each generation has had a small group who took the mantle from their predecessors and went forth when the call was sounded.  It’s our warriors who have done the lion’s share of the work.  It’s our warriors with their willing hearts and spirits who’ve gone forward, at great cost to themselves, who’ve assured that the light of liberty, freedom and self-determination still shines in the world of men.

Wishing all of our veterans and active duty military members a blessed and beautiful day…

8 responses

  1. I first discovered you when I was deployed overseas. You are a nice addition to all of the services!

    1. Well hello! So glad you stopped in and left me a note. I have a good time writing this blog but have no idea who actually sees it. Nice to touch base with you…and thank you for the lovely compliment!

  2. Thanks, Doc!!!

  3. As always my beautiful friend your patriotism is second to none and very appreciated. It’s people like you that make us military folk so very proud to serve! Keep rockin it LL 🙂

  4. Beautiful as always

  5. Thank you very much Lynn. The country would be a stronger place with more persons like you. Semper Fidelis
    David

  6. Thank You! Semper Fi

Leave a Reply

