Excellent Chest And Triceps Combination Exercise

I used the following exercise to help build my triceps

I used the following exercise to help build my triceps

I have a few combination exercises that I really like.  The following video that I took about a month ago shows one of them.  It’s a chest/triceps combo that really does the trick.  The triceps portion should be performed using explosive movement so that your hands come fully off the bench.  The chest portion of the exercise can be done as shown but if you’re really strong you can switch your hand position in one quick movement instead of two the way I show it.  Give it a try!

One caveat which I mention in the video….be careful and pay attention to where your hands are at all times.  You can miss the bench on the landing if you’re distracted.  Ask me how I know….Yeah…that was one of my more embarrassing gym moments.  I pushed up nice and high and then landed on the floor on my behind.  Thank goodness for the ample cushioning I have back there!

Saved by the junk in the trunk!

Saved by the junk in the trunk!

17 responses

  1. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    1. Actually, my best advice is just to do it…you’ll get better as you go along. Don’t fret about it too much…write stuff you’d want to read and as you publish more you’ll get into a nice groove.

    2. …and include photos….people like text that has photos to go along with it (that’s my opinion but I think it makes a blog more visually appealing).

  2. I was very pleased to uncover this page. I need to to thank you for your
    time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely savored every bit of it and I
    have you bookmarked to see new stuff in your website.

    1. Glad you stopped by! Wishing you an excellent week ahead!

  3. Great job……..too funny “junk in the trunk”

    1. Mess…it’s there alright…and it saved my bacon when I fell off that bench. Not one of my more graceful moments, that’s for sure!

  4. Yep, still loving your “awful muscles”…you are a beast my little spider monkey!

    1. Hi Jay! Thank you…Here we are at the beginning of another week. This wasn’t a gym day for me but I’ll be in there tomorrow. I’ve got shoulders that are begging for a little attention! Happy Monday over there!

  5. I love your guns..wowwww zurrrr

    1. Thank you Artie! They’re one of the body parts I’m putting a little extra emphasis on right now. I want to work more on shoulders, biceps/triceps…while keeping everything else together too!

  6. LOL Saved by Junk in the trunk 🙂 You have some nice junk 😉 . Great tip on the triceps workout. I’m also very impressed with your pushups skill! 🙂

    1. Great job, you make it look easy. And its nice to hear your voice.

      1. My son was my camera man. Glad he knew those were called staggered push ups. I learned to do them by watching another guy in the gym do them. It’s a fun variation and I think it works the chest very well.

    2. There ARE benefits to having a little something back there! The guy that I saw first do those push ups could switch his hands without the middle step. I’m still not strong enough to do more than two of those. You should have seen him…he could just go and go…like the energizer bunny!

Leave a Reply

