I Love Running!

Run, run as fast as you can!

Run, run as fast as you can!

You didn’t think I was going to talk about my love for running did you?  Nah, I don’t really care for regular running  BUT  I’ll enthusiastically be trying to outrun the flu this year.  For the last couple of weeks news stories about the severity of this year’s strain and the early onset of the season have gotten my attention. I’m not that worried for myself but my youngest son (9 years old) gets very high fevers when he’s sick. Not just your run of the mill fevers but the Oh-my-God-it’s-still-105-and-I-can’t-get-it-down-and-he’s-starting-to-have-tremors-so-I’m-taking-him-to-the-ER-again kind of fevers.  Although I’ve learned how to deal with it better, I still dread hearing his little voice in the middle of the night saying  “Mommy, I don’t feel good.”

There isn’t any sort of magic formula to avoid getting the flu but shoring up your immune system with a good diet is always very helpful.  Increasing consumption of dark green leafy vegetables and the brightly colored fruits and vegetables is a great place to start.

1flu3

Berries of all types are very good flu fighters.  It so happens I picked up a few baskets of blackberries at the market yesterday.  They’re in season right now and they’re sweet and delicious.  If you don’t have access to fresh berries you can always get frozen.  You can eat them plain like I do or add them to a smoothie but make sure to include them in your diet.

Here are some additional flu fighting foods

Here are some additional flu fighting foods

I don’t know how many people will really eat raw garlic but I’d venture to say some nice sautéed garlic added to your diet would be beneficial.  I can’t imagine a kid wanting to eat a lot of the things on this list (cloves, turmeric, ginseng root, cayenne pepper and ginger might be hard to convince them to eat unless you’re a master of disguise and can incorporate these food items into dishes that they’ll eat), however, the following foods should be easy to put on your child’s plate (and yours).

1flu2

Along with making sure you’re getting more of the aforementioned foods in your diet make sure to wash your hands often and keep your hands away from your mouth, nose and eyes.   Those of us who spend time in the gym are in prime areas to pick up the influenza virus.  Everybody touches everything…..the weights, the mats, the bosu balls, the ropes, the cardio machine handles, the lockers and the water fountain.  Studies have shown that the flu virus can live quite happily for 2-8 hours on surfaces such as these so be aware and keep your hands off your face until they’ve been properly washed.  In the absence of soap and water you can use a wipe or hand sanitizer (preferably with alcohol, even though it’s hard on your skin).

Make a couple of adjustments in your diet and remember to wash your hands often and that will go a long way to helping you avoid getting sick.  Wishing you the best of luck in your race to avoid the flu this year!

You can follow this link and see where the flu outbreak has hit the hardest so far this year.  The list is broken down by state so you can determine your risk   http://shar.es/4zrdP

6 responses

  1. I no likey the flu…fortunately, I don’t get sick to often. I love all the foods you listed..except walnuts! Walnuts are gross (and pecans too)! I eat a lot of garlic in most all that I cook! I decided long ago that I just am NOT going to get sick, so I don’t! Yep, I’m hella cool like that!

    1. I’ll eat your walnuts and pecans but you have to eat my beets! Oh my goodness….I can’t STAND beets in any form. They make me shiver just looking at them! Lol. You ARE hella cool!

  2. Hey Lynn at first I actually thought you were addressing running,one of my least favorite things to do but required. Excellent blog. I hope your son is feeling better.

    1. Icky, icky running! Lol….I do it like you do…just because I must. I’m sure you know those people who LOVE it and look forward to it. That’s not me! I’m happy to say that my son hasn’t gotten the flu this go-round. I’m doing all I can to see that he doesn’t get it. It’s just awful when he’s sick. Now the older one, has antibodies of steel. He hardly ever gets sick and then if he does, he recovers fast. Happy Wednesday over there!

  3. Lynn.. i am praying for your son.. I understand because I have been dealing with the same thing as your son since last Friday. I have been in the bed all week..give him plenty of fluids such as herbal tea, orange juice, water…let him cover himself in a blanket and sweat it out too..works for me

    1. Hi Artie…sorry you’re a little under the weather. My son luckily hasn’t gotten the darn flu yet and I’m doing everything I can to prevent it! I sure hope you’re starting to feel much better. This flu is a bear!

Leave a Reply

