Inspired by Chris Kyle (Warrior, Protector, Patriot)

A moment of remembrance for Chris Kyle and all the warriors whose names I don't know who pass through this rough life far to quickly...

A moment of remembrance for Chris Kyle and all the warriors whose names I don’t know who pass through this rough life so quickly…

One of the most comforting things my faith reminds me of is that life here with all it’s attendant pain and difficulty is just temporary…a quick, bright flash in time and then we go on.  We get days (who knows how many) to improve, to hone that which is good and right in us, to make use of our gifts, to love each other the best way we can.  That’s why although leavings still have that shocking quality, like being dipped in cold water for a second, I don’t dwell on the condition of those who’ve passed. I know they’re perfectly fine.  I do say prayers for them but much longer ones for those they leave behind…children, spouses, parents, friends.

(Revelation 21:1-4) Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more.  And I saw the holy city, New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband.  And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man.  He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Take joy in this day…it’s a gift…

5 responses

  1. I own Kyles book. Another good read is called “Lone Survivor” by Marcus Luttrell. It is the account of Operation Redwing told by the lone survivor of Seal Team 10.

    1. I read Lone Survivor a couple of years ago. Hear tell, they’re making it into a movie. It’s my understanding that Marcus Luttrell is very involved so hopefully it will turn out well (and accurately). What a story he’s lived…incredible!

  2. I spend half of my life in front of a computer. When doing research I always prefer to read from a computer (easier to take notes). When I read I book I am going to review I prefer a hardback or paperback since it is a lot easier to highlight. However, when I am just reading “for fun” I prefer my iPad.

  3. I bought Kyle’s boot, American Sniper, a few weeks ago. He was certainly an American hero.

    1. Yes…I read his book quite a while ago but only have it in digital form. I’ll get it in hardback. I made the decision not to buy anything but “fluff” books in digital anymore because I realized I want real copies of the books I enjoy or that have particular meaning for me. Thank you for the comment. I know I veer off track at times and bring in topics other than just fitness but themes in my life blend together and I prefer to let them do so in my blog too. It’s an authentic reflection of who I am. As you know from history and from the gifts your own family members have offered up in the quest, the freedoms and pleasures we enjoy here in the United States were bought with blood, pain, tears, courage, commitment, bravery and deep dedication. That thought is always with me…

Leave a Reply

