Push Hard And Push Forever!

The following was a note to me from a bodybuilder friend of mine.  I loved the passion he expressed and his unwillingness to settle into self pity or weakness after a significant health issue.  It made me happy to read and reminded me again how strong the human spirit is.  I asked Eric if I could share it here and he graciously agreed.

Here's Eric working hard at the gym

Here’s Eric working hard at the gym

These past few months have not been an easy path in the summer of last year I got very ill with a mini stroke and could not train anymore it almost killed me. When I started going back to the gym I was so weak and I was a little depressed I almost gave up then then a fire lit in side of me a fire that said I would rather die than be normal I would rather die than be weak. So I started pushing I could barely bench 185 pounds on the bench I was used to repping 315 25 times. But I never gave up and not only got my get my size back and my strength back I became stronger than I ever had in my life and I maxed out at 520 pound on flat bench raw I am so proud of myself so anyone reading this know that no matter what you can do it. The hell with the nay Sayers they want you to be as weak as them the hell with them push hard and push forever.

Warm up 5.4 miles on bike
Flat bench barbell
135 x10
185 x10
225 x10
315 x10
345 x10
520 x1 new max YEAH BABY LIGHT WEIGHT AHAHAHAHHAAHAH
Incline barbell
135 x10
185 x10
205 x10
225 x10
Back t bar rows
340 x10
340 x10
Mid range cable rows
100 x25
100 x25
Reverse lat pull down
100 x25
100 x25

I  had to add this for Eric.  When he's had a great workout, he'll write a note to me that says SPAAAARRRRTTTAAA!  It makes me smile and gets me revved up too.

I had to add this for Eric. When he’s had a great workout, he’ll write a me a note that says SPAAAARRRRTTTAAA! It makes me smile and gets me revved up too.

12 responses

  1. Good post, what type of athletics does he participate in ?

      1. We do a little bit of that as well i.e. strength training. are u a 3 lift power lifter or just bench…

      1. what weight class do u compete in?

  2. I want to be strong when I get bigger!

    1. Eric is quite inspirational…a very kind person and a determined athlete!

      1. Thank you all, I hope I help someone to never give up and push harder.

      2. You help me Eric! I always love when you post those killer workouts of yours. SPAAAARRTTTAAA!

Leave a Reply

