The Best Laid Schemes

A while ago I posted the following photo.  It was a progress picture and around that time I said that my goal for the next few weeks was to get cut up…meaning to lower my body fat a little through a slight cutback in caloric intake and an increase in cardio.

Check in

After the passing of several weeks you may be curious to know what I look like now.  The following photo was taken this morning.

Progress Photo

That’s right, not too much of a difference between the first and the second photo…if anything my abs have faded a bit in the second photo.  The reason is that I’ve been eating with a shovel instead of a fork.  That’s almost true.  I certainly have been living the past weeks without regard to my caloric intake and on top of that I haven’t been keeping to my regular gym schedule.  Am I upset?  Not at all.  True, I missed my goal which was to be significantly more cut by today but as happens now and then, life got a little crazy.  It’s something that everybody who trains understands.  Most of the time with a little extra effort you can get those workouts in but occasionally there are weeks when for some reason or another you just don’t.  As most of you know my father fell a few weeks ago.  He was unfortunately unable to recover from surgery and after lingering for a short while he passed away.  During those weeks I had other things to command my attention and my workouts were not in the absolutely-must-attend-to column.  Events like these happen in everybody’s life.  Experienced lifters don’t even give it a second thought.  Flexibility is something we’ve learned over the years.  If something comes between you and your gym plan, you just adjust and pick it up when you can.

Life happens!  No problem!  Dust off and keep going!

To a Mouse (The Best Laid Schemes o’ Mice and Men) by Robert Burns
(one of my favorite poems from the old days when I was an English Lit major)
Wee, sleeket, cowrin, tim’rous beastie,
Oh, what a panic’s in thy breastie!
Thou need na start awa sae hasty
Wi’ bickerin brattle!
I wad be laith to rin an’ chase thee
Wi’ murd’ring pattle!I’m truly sorry man’s dominion
Has broken Nature’s social union,
An’ justifies that ill opinion
Which makes thee startle
At me, thy poor earth-born companion,
An’ fellow-mortal!I doubt na, whyles, but thou may thieve:
What then? poor beastie, thou maun live!
A daimen icker in a thrave
‘S a sma’ request;
I’ll get a blessin wi’ the lave,
An’ never miss ‘t!Thy wee bit housie, too, in ruin!
Its silly wa’s the win’s are strewin!
An’ naething, now, to big a new ane,
O’ foggage green!
An’ bleak December’s winds ensuin
Baith snell an’ keen!Thou saw the fields laid bare an’ wast,
An’ weary winter comin fast,
An’ cozie here beneath the blast
Thou thought to dwell,
Till crash! the cruel coulter past
Out thro’ thy cell.That wee bit heap o’ leaves an’ stibble
Has cost thee monie a weary nibble!
Now thou’s turn’d out for a’ thy trouble,
But house or hald,
To thole the winter’s sleety dribble
An’ cranreuch cauld!But, Mousie, thou art no thy lane
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft agley,
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain
For promis’d joy.Still thou art blest, compar’d wi’ me!
The present only toucheth thee:
But, och! I backward cast my e’e
On prospects drear!
An’ forward, tho’ I canna see,
I guess an’ fear!

23 responses

  1. Sorry about your dad and its true life has its ups and downs. But I like your spirit! Keep it up and you look great…hardwork and dedication rewards us even when we cant be at the top of a game now and then 🙂

    1. Thank you for the nice note and the encouragement. I’m doing well (in and out of the gym). I’ve got a new goal in sight (making the abs pop) and I’m moving in that direction. Hope you had a good week and that your workouts have been productive and fun! Happy weekend!

  2. nice work..yes life nothing if not adapting and rolling with it..Keep it up!

    1. Why thank you! Had a great week in the gym, I’m happy to say. I’m looking forward to next week’s journey too. I’ve got my Ipod loaded with new, motivational music so I’ll be good to go in a few weeks! Happy Friday!

  3. You are looking good my friend..sexy abs

    1. Hi Artie!! Thank you so much. I’ve put in some time this week to see that those abs come out to play a bit more. I increased my cardio and have stopped eating a bunch extra stuff I don’t need. Little changes go a long way. Hope you had a great week and that your workouts are on point! Happy weekend!

  4. You always have a great post at a great time Miss Beautiful Lynn! I started one of those 12 week competitions to get more fit,shredded,whatever but I just haven’t been able to stick to it. Sure I get my workouts in here and there, but nothing competition level. While I haven’t made many (if any) strides to a better looking me, I was looking at some pics from last year, and at least haven’t lost any gains. And you my dear, look fantastic ALL THE TIME!

    1. Vinny!! Hello there! Thank you. So happy you stopped by. I tell you life gets in the way sometimes but you just roll with it. You know, you’re already in wonderful shape. I think we’re the same…we live the lifestyle consistently and our assessments are a bit different than the general public’s. Sending you wishes for a lovely Friday afternoon and a fantastic weekend!

  5. My condolences on your loss. Be like water and flow with the process. You are doing very well and don’t be hard on yourself, k?

    1. Hi and thank you for the lovely note. I’m feeling good these days. My dad and I had a very good relationship and I admired him immensely. I feel quite fortunate that I had him around (in body) for so many years. My workouts this week were good and strong. I feel energized and pretty soon the mirror and I will be on better footing! Lol…wishing you a wonderful weekend ahead!

  6. Oh my beautiful Spider Monkey…your picture (as usual) has inspired me to write something again. I will do that shortly and share it with you when I am finished. You brighten my days…thank you for that!

    1. Hiya Jay! How goes it in the land of warm sunshine and gentle breezes? Hope you had an excellent week. My workouts were pleasing and it seems I’ve got energy to spare. I just might do a little extra this weekend. I should be thanking you by the way. You bring me smiles all the time!

  7. Life happens. Glad to see you smiling, you’ve had a tough row, but you are still one Hot Mama!

    1. Life sure does happen…at the most inopportune times. Lol! I’ve had a great week in the gym and I feel like it was a productive one. Got the extra cardio going so I should like what the mirror tells me again pretty soon.

      1. I think the mirror and the camera already love you! And I freakin hate cardio!

  8. Lynn,
    Please accept my condolences on the loss of your father. You are not only a beautiful warrior, but very intelligent human being. I truly appreciate the perspectives you share with regard to living. Best wishes to you my friend.

    1. Oh thank you so much. Lovely to get your kind note. I’m feeling good about my workouts this week (and about everything else too). I was even thinking about doing a little extra over the weekend which is not my normal schedule but my gym time really makes me feel good. Happy Friday to you!

  9. I have no worries, you will get those workouts back into place! ;0)

    1. Hello and happy Friday! Yes…this week was a marked improvement over the past couple so I’m feeling encouraged and strong. Looking forward to continuing the high energy workouts next week! Happy weekend to you!

  10. You are completely right…. Just keep working hard.

    1. Happy, happy Friday Al! This has been a much better week all around than the previous few were so I’m feeling pretty good. I increased my cardio on Monday and I’m feeling energetic. Looking forward to next week’s workouts. Hope yours are going well. Bet you’ve cooked something yummy recently. I’m going to fire up the grill this weekend. Can’t wait!

  11. Triple Drop Training | Reply

    I know exactly how you feel. I bet though, that within a week you’ll be back on track and have caught up with the goals you’d set for yourself. I didn’t even post my Feb photos, for pretty much the same reason. Love the poem, have you ever eaten haggis? I love it, best enjoyed with ‘tatties and neeps’

    1. Hi and happy Friday! I’ve never had haggis but I’ve heard other people tell me they like it over the years. One day! I already feel better. This week was a lot less crazy that the previous ones have been. Feeling strong and motivated right now. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

