Lady Soldier With Biceps (And Why A Surprise Santa Is A No-No)

Now and again something happens that gives me a little thrill.  Early in the week it came to my attention that if you google the search term “lady soldier with biceps” and look under images, my photo is there.  Actually, 5 of my physique photos are under that heading.  A couple of them are pictures I took of myself in the mirror at the gym so I’m not sure how those got in the mix but three of them are military appreciation photos or patriotic in nature.  Only one is really a photo specifically dedicated to the Army.  That was one I did for Special Forces, Third Group.

The reason I like this little discovery is that the military tribute photos I create are meant to fulfill the wishes of the person who requested them but they’re also public and meant to be shared.  That’s why I never put watermarks on them.  I want anyone who happens to see them and enjoy them to be able to print or save them.  If they’ve managed, through the magic of the cyberspace fairies to appear in google images it maximizes the number of people who may run across them.

There I am...4 times in this screenshot.  There was a 5th photo too but it was too far apart from this group to be included in the screenshot.

There I am…4 times in this screenshot. There was a 5th photo too but it was too far apart from this group to be included in the screenshot.

I also happen to like the search term “lady soldier with biceps.”  I’m not a soldier but if I had it to do all over again I’d be a surgical nurse in the Army.  I used to think I missed my calling since I went into education and not into medicine but if your calling only occurs to you when you hit 40 years of age, perhaps it really wasn’t a calling, only a backward wish.  As it was, I spent many happy years teaching, then running a school, looking into the faces of the best, freshest, brightest little people you could ever hope to meet.  My students were my heart and we had lots of fabulous adventures along the way.  I taught them lots of things but they taught me even more.

A couple of my 6th grade students when I first started teaching

A couple of my 6th grade students when I first started teaching

Me, my classroom aide, and some of my students making a fun mess!

Me, my classroom aide, and some of my students making a fun mess!

I learned that children always learn the most, feel the most secure and are happiest in a classroom with a strict (and fair) teacher.

I learned the reason you shouldn’t let Santa make a surprise visit to a kindergarten room (much shrieking , running and tears)

I learned that washable fingerprint isn’t.

I learned that no matter how carefully you watch the children while they’re using scissors at least once a year someone from your classroom is going home without a full head of hair.

I learned that if young boys discover a box of Tampax in the supply closet they are in seventh heaven.  They have no idea what they are but shooting those things out of the plastic tubes is great fun and they’ll pout for the rest of the afternoon when you take them away.

I learned that if you watch caterpillars turn into butterflies in the classroom and then take them outside to let them go they will sit on the ground for a while before flying and in the pushing and jostling to watch them a few (many) will get stepped on.

I learned that if you find a dead robin on the playground in the morning but don’t throw it far enough over the fence, the children will spend the day poking sticks through the links inching it closer.  Eventually, they will be able to reach their little hands through the fence to grasp the bird.  Unfortunately, its fat body won’t fit through the opening but it’s head will.  Children can pull hard enough to detach the head. The boys will then use the head to chase the girls around the yard.

I learned that when life gets tough, spending time with children always makes you feel better.

These were young siblings of students in my kindergarten class.  See how they're looking at Santa?  Not thrilled.  Their siblings are still over on the other side of the classroom terrified by Santa's surprise visit.  I was using the little ones to help reassure them that Santa was friendly.  I never planned another surprise visit  to a classroom in my career.

These were young siblings of students in my kindergarten class. See how they’re looking at Santa? Not thrilled. Their siblings are still over on the other side of the classroom terrified by Santa’s surprise visit. I was using the little ones to help reassure them that Santa was friendly. I never planned another surprise guest visit to a classroom in my career.

Just give them some time and these adorable boys will be getting into something.  A great photo of some of my favorite kids.  Bird heads, Tampax rocket launchers, smooshed butterflies....we had a great time!

Just give them some time and these adorable boys will be getting into something. A great photo of some of my favorite kids. Bird heads, Tampax rocket launchers, smooshed butterflies….we had a great time!

I guess upon further reflection it’s OK that I didn’t become a lady soldier with biceps.  Maybe a lady teacher with biceps was good enough.

11 responses

  1. Teaching, molding and developing young minds is great enough! Doing it with biceps and an ideal fitness is a role model. Big congrats to you!

    1. Thank you. I did influence the kids a bit in that direction. They used to always come show me their biceps so I could see how strong they were getting. Very cute. I sure loved being with them…

      1. My 5 year old is doing the same now as she says “her bicep is biger than mine now” super cute!

  2. Strong teachers rock! Makes me wanna go back and take your class 🙂

    1. Oh thank you! I sure did have a lot of fun with those sweet children. It was a real pleasure being with them each day…

  3. You sooo cute then! I am not surprised that you grew up to be the beautiful spider monkey (with the most awesome shoes) that I adore! Have a great weekend my beautiful spider monkey!

    1. Hi Jaylicious! Oh my…I sure loved those little babies who came through my school. I have hundreds of stories as I’m sure you can imagine. I never did enjoy being an administrator as much as I liked being in the classroom. That was where all the adventure was. It’s a beautiful Sunday…sun is shining and I’m looking forward to doing chores at my own little pace. Hope you have a bright, sunny, relaxing day!

  4. Very cute!

    1. Oh Al…I sure had some adventures with those kids. Those were wonderful days!

  5. A gorgeous teacher at that my friend

    1. Thank you Artie! Looking through those photos brought back great memories. I started teaching when I was 22. Sure had a good time…

Leave a Reply

