Little By Little

This week I started my heavy lifting phase.  My overall goal is to get nice and cut without losing the muscle mass I’ve worked so hard for.  This is a balancing act but I’ve found over the years that if I combine increased cardio with heavy lifting I get good results.  Lifting in this way helps keep the muscle on my bones as I whittle away the bit of fluff I acquired over the late fall/winter months.

Working toward my goal...nice cuts while keeping the muscles!

Working toward my goal…nice cuts while keeping the muscles!

Monday was leg day and my concentration there was on squats and traditional deadlifts.  I did Romanian deadlifts too and calf raises but the squats/traditional deadlifts were where I put my emphasis.  Those are great compound exercises and will play a big role in getting me where I want to be.

deadlifts

Tuesday was back day which is one of my favorite days in the gym.  I did a bazillion pull ups of all varieties (overhand, underhand, wide grip and neutral grip).  I also did some lat rows and straight-arm pull downs but the pull ups were where I put the greatest energy.  I did some holding a barbell between my knees to add to the weight I had to pull up.  It’s surprising how much difference 15lbs can make in the number of consecutive pull ups you can do.

Today is chest day and I’ll focus on just two exercises.  I’ll be doing lots of push ups (wide and narrow, incline and decline) and bench presses.

Suffice it to say I’m sore all over which is just fine.  I love this feeling.  It lets me know I’ve been working hard and I can definitely feel the particular muscles I’ve been focusing on.  I’ll stick with the heavy lifting and extra cardio for a few more weeks and little by little I’ll get those pretty cuts I love so much.

19 responses

  1. Wow…you are sculptured nicely Lynn

  2. You are doing a great job it looks like. Whatever your routine is, it is working. You should teach body-sculpting’ 🙂 have a great hoiday!

    1. Thanks so much! I’m feeling strong and enjoying all those workouts lately. It’s good to have a goal to work towards and I’m getting there bit by bit!

  3. had to see what my muse was up too and get me in the groove, yes the hard work must be done,
    thanks doc

    1. Hi! Very happy you popped up. So delighted to hear from you. Yes…it’s the truth. The hard work must be done but the reward is wonderful!

  4. I love the you incorporate the basics. Squats, dl, push ups, pull ups…Nothing ever will replace these! Looking good and ripped!

    1. Thank you! I think I’m old school to the core. I love the basic, compound movements and have to force myself to try new things to shake it up now and then.

  5. You keep doing what you are doing, as I love seeing all of those wonderful cuts! Cut up spider monkeys are the best! I have been forcing myself to do extra cardio as I am getting to where I will soon need an automotive scale to weight myself. Such a bright spot in my daily activity…thank you for being you!

    1. Hi Jaylicious…you made me laugh. Automotive scale…so silly! Yesterday I was quite bad. Had a great workout but then accidentally ate some delicious barbeque (ribs). Oh they were divine! Stuffed myself! Lil monkey walking around with a fat belly. I usually save my big cheat meals for the weekend but la-de-ca Wednesday is a good day too!

  6. That is a “bazillion” lol! You are rockin it out as always girl! Keep it up 😉

    I love how you put in the work instead on relying on miracle pills and such.

    Your pic proves you are doing the work (arms, chest, back/lats, shoulders)…and you’re rocking crocs 😉

    1. You know, I’m on the hunt for a miracle pill but it’s eluded me for the past 21 years! Lol…just have to put the hard work in darn it. I’m having a good time lately in the gym. Love the heavy lifting…it makes me feel like a beast! Ha, ha…chihuahua beast! Sending you wishes for great workouts in the days ahead!

  7. Ashleigh Mayes | Reply

    Looking great! Motivational for sure.

    1. Ashleigh, thank you! I’m like a mad scientist…always experimenting with my physique. Glad you stopped by!

  8. Looking good and awesome definition..love that killer smile that is heart melting Lynn..so beautiful as you are my friend 🙂

    1. Sweet Artie, thank you! I’m always over here doing the balancing act with my physique. It’s nice to have people like you to keep my company. Our individual journeys are much easier when you can share parts of it, don’t you think? Wishing you a fabulous day!

      1. I agree

  9. Triple Drop Training | Reply

    looking sharp. keep it up. Extra cardio is always the best way for me too, if I diet too much then I just wither away.

    1. Thanks! I’m sure working on it. Yeah…we must have NO withering away! Lol…

  10. As always you look terrific and I’m proud of you. Good luck with you goals!

Leave a Reply

