Tenacity Wins The Day

Emphasis of the day Sheet  Tenacity

I was standing at my kitchen sink washing dishes just a couple of days ago when I saw something that made me laugh.  There was a robin outside the window who had a 4ft length of string in her mouth and she was pulling it with all her might.  One end was knotted in a tangled mess around the leg of a deck chair and the other end was in her beak.  She was diligently trying to get it loose but it was obviously impossible.  I thought about going out there and untangling it for her but then had second thoughts since that would mean the string would smell of human and then she might not want it.  I figured if she kept trying she might be able to pull a few of the frayed parts or little wisps off the main part of the string and use that part for her nest.

There are lots of robins out these days, looking to make nests.  Last year we had two nests at our house and I'm happy to say that all the eggs hatched except one.  The rest of the babies survived and we got to watch them grow and eventually fly away.

There are lots of robins out these days, looking to make nests. Last year we had two nests at our house and I’m happy to say that all the eggs hatched except one. The rest of the babies survived and we got to watch them grow and eventually fly away.

The next day I went out onto the deck and looked up into the eaves.  I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.  The string….the WHOLE string was up in her nest!  She did what I thought was going to be impossible for her.

See that long string hanging down?  She got it up there and has since hauled it all the way up and woven it (along with her other materials)  into a nice, neat, pretty little nest

See that long string hanging down? She got it up there and has since hauled it all the way up and woven it (along with her other materials) into a nice, neat, pretty little nest

That little robin must have worked the whole day to get that string up into her nest.  It made me think of the role tenacity plays in life…bird life and human life too.  It’s not always the most talented or the most fit for the task that gets things done.  Sometimes it’s pure persistent, stick-to-itiveness that does the trick.  It’s that way in the gym for sure.  It’s not necessarily the most athletic or the genetically gifted that end up with the best physiques.  A lot of the time the prize goes to the most tenacious person, the one who shows up, stays on task and pushes forward without getting discouraged.   That little, mama robin has a message for us all.  Success belongs to those who KEEP ON TRYING!

tenacity-word

12 responses

  1. Great analogy. Loved the visuals and wasn’t expecting it to go in that direction

    1. Thank you so much! Delighted tat you stopped by. I have to say I was shocked to see that the little robin had been successful getting that long, tangled string up into her nest. Gave me a little food for thought!

  2. Great post and great analogy. It sometimes isn’t the most glamorous, but the hard work and dedication we put into something can turn out to be amazing. Just like the robin, if we keep trying and put all our effort in we can build a nest of accomplishments and triumphs. Keep up the awesome writing 🙂

    1. Thank you! I was truly surprised to see that she had been able to get that string from around the chair and then all the way up into her nest. It made me smile to see it dangling there when I was so sure it was an impossible task. She’s got it all neatly woven into the rest of her nest now. Amazing! Glad you stopped by. Wishing you a relaxing weekend ahead.

      1. Great story and I hope you have a nice weekend as well. If you ever want to read something inspirational an humorous you are more than welcome to stop by and enjoy a Cup of Joe 🙂

      2. Hi! I went over, read a little and signed up right away! Great blog over there!

      3. Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe 🙂

      4. I do like your posts. I saw you’re taking a few days off. Enjoy! See you when you get back!

  3. Awesome analogy..you’re preaching lol

    1. Hi Artie! Yes! Preaching. Lol. I was so shocked to walk outside and see that that little bird had gotten the string all the way up into her nest! I just knew she wouldn’t be able to! Shows what I know, huh?

  4. You got that right! They also like to beat the bigger bird…. 😉

    1. Yeah! Beat the bigger bird! Lol…We have a long, long weekend on tap. My boys are out of school today and won’t return until Tuesday. After that, it’s only a few more days until school is out for good. Hard to believe the summer vacation is here. My goodness, I now have a Sophmore in High School!!

Leave a Reply

