Dangerous Curves (Is It A Progress Report If You’re Going The Wrong Direction?)

images

When I got back from my recent trip to South Africa I took a photo for the Marines.  I actually took a couple of bikinis and a Marine Corps flag along on my vacation with the hope of being able to get a cool shot with a  giraffe or a colorful African sunset in the background.  That didn’t work since I could never find a private time or place to take the photograph without making of a spectacle of myself.

The word spectacle makes me laugh because it reminds me of what my younger sister would say now and then when we were little.  She’d put her hands on her hips and say “Lynnie, you’re making a speckle of yourself!” I don’t know WHAT she meant since I was always perfectly well-behaved, but I digress.  Although I do enjoy photography of all kinds I’m shy when it comes to taking photos of myself and prefer not to have an audience.  There are times I grin and bear it when I think it’s for a good cause like when I insisted on marching out onto a well populated beach in San Diego with a different Marine Corps flag, and when I climbed a hill overlooking a resort in Utah with my American flag, oh yeah, and when I put on my American flag bikini in Mexico and ran up the knoll, past security, to the warning flag overlooking the ocean and a busy beach.  OK…sometimes I do make a speckle of myself but an appropriate time in Africa never came around.  About a week ago  I decided it was a good time to try to get the photo I wanted.

My Marine Corps photo...cause I never forget that you're out and about the world over putting in that time and hard work

Me with the Marine Corps flag

Now take a good look at this photo.  I do believe I’m looking a bit curvier than usual.  As you know I don’t rely on the scale to tell me what to focus on in my workouts.  The mirror does an excellent job of accurately pointing me in the right direction as does the camera.  My “holding steady” workouts over the past couple of months and my 2.5 weeks off combined with big eating in Africa (did I tell you I ate an entire pizza for lunch three days in a row in Cape Town? No? Left that part out I guess).  The point is that although I came back weighing just about the same, my body composition is clearly different than it was a couple of months ago.  This is the juncture in the conversation when I used to say “I’m fat” which I learned caused my friends (who aren’t lifters) to become extremely agitated and yell out things like “You’re crazy!” or “You’re obsessed!”  (which could possibly be true but has nothing to do with my very accurate assessment of my body’s condition).  What I mean by fat is that although I’m clear on the fact that I don’t look like the Michelin Man, my fat to muscle ratio is not where I like to keep it.  This doesn’t put me in a bad mood or make me regret eating large quantities of cheesy, salty, delicious, delicious…did I say DELICIOUS pizza.  I just know it’s time to go to work.  It’s easy when you note the trajectory early on and change course.

These last few days have been just fine.  I’ve made adjustments (oatmeal and egg whites for breakfast instead of ham and cheese omelets for instance) and I’m putting some serious effort into the workouts, particularly my lifting (I’m keeping the cardio to 30 minutes per lifting session).  Pretty soon those dangerous curves will be gone and then I’ll be rocking the pretty, muscular curves that I love so much!

14 responses

  1. Yes curves are great! So is a lean muscular bod! It must be nice to float from one to the other doctor… 🙂

    1. Hi! I just have to be sure I don’t float too far! There’s a lovely little sweet spot right in the middle. I don’t always hit it but as long as it’s in sight I’m happy. I hope this week has been a good one for you. Thursday rolled around right quick (that was an expression of my dad’s). Wishing you a wonderful day!

  2. I think you look awesome no matter what! Your curves should be dangerous!

    1. Thank you! I really did enjoy my trip and I don’t regret a single decision regarding my eating or lack of real exercise while I was away. I just noticed the result and thought it was time to change course just a little. Really appreciate your very kind note!

  3. Fantastic…you rock

    1. ARTIE!! Hi and happy Thursday to you. Thank you so much! I’ve been having incredible workouts lately. It feels so good. I finish one workout and immediately start thinking about the next one and what I want to accomplish. Wish I could bottle this energy to use during those times when I’m a bit less enthusiastic!

  4. OMG you are kidding me right? I know, you are serious but in this case I beg to differ. MOST women would die to have your dangerous curves. You look fantastic regardless of your curve status, i.e., dangerous or muscular. You should have seen my face after reading your blog, priceless look indeed as I may be bias you are one fine lady with a killer smile….A fan for life that be me. Keep rockin it Lynn 🙂

    1. Matt! Good morning. You have a wonderful way of making me smile. Thank you! I’m like you. I keep a close eye on what my body is doing. When it starts to “fluff up” I just make sure it doesn’t go too far. You know, your note brightened my day. You’re a very kind and encouraging person…much appreciated!

  5. I think you look absolutely freaking fantastic! 🙂

    1. VINNY!! Hi! Thank you so much! I’m just making sure I don’t keep going in the “curvy” direction. As long as I stay within certain parameters I’m quite happy. I just have to keep an eye on it. Too fluffy or too stringy…I try to stay in the middle range. Sending you wishes for a great day!

  6. There’s nothing wrong with curves… 😉

    1. YOU are sweet! Thank you. I sure did have fun getting those curves! It won’t be long before I’ve got it all tightened up again.

      1. Curves are great

      2. Aw..thank you! I like them too as long as they don’t get out of hand! Hope you’re doing well. It’s been hot but I’ve been able to get my workouts in early these days. Wishing you a lovely Thursday!

Leave a Reply

