Reason #167 To Stay In Shape

Everybody who knows me knows that Halloween is my favorite holiday to decorate for.  I start putting out my indoor decorations around September 15th but usually wait until October 1st to decorate outside. I only wait because I don’t want to cement the neighbors’ opinion that I’m completely nuts unusually enthusiastic about Halloween.

The other night I woke up at 2:30am in a panic.  I realized that the wind was blowing in strong gusts and that my giant, illuminated, blow up pumpkin might be in danger out there in the yard.  It was secured with four 6 inch stakes and additionally was plugged into an extension cord which reached across the lawn and plugged into the outlet at the side of the house but I was still worried. I peeked out the window through the blinds and saw my lovely pumpkin still sitting there looking merry and bright on the lawn. I breathed a sigh of relief.  I put robe on and went out front to unplug the pumpkin so it would deflate and not be in any more danger from the high winds.

I opened the front door and stepped onto the lawn and there where my pumpkin had been just moments before was…..NOTHING!  Nothing, just an empty spot between the graveyard and the wooden witch on the lawn.  I stood there completely perplexed then heard a huge WHOOSH over my head.   I looked up just in time to see my precious pumpkin go sailing over a huge tree at the edge of the yard.  It landed down the street and then skipped a few more houses down until it got stuck in my neighbors juniper bush.  I took off running, hair flying, robe flapping in a full sprint down the street.  I wanted my pumpkin back!

I was almost successful.  I got within three inches of being able to grab it but another gust of wind caught it and took it flying again. I watched helplessly as it disappeared into the night sky.  I sprinted back home and hopped into my car thinking that I might be able to find it if I drove around the neighborhood but I had no luck and had to return home without my prize.

The next day at about 4:00pm I got a call from a friend who lives close by.  She said she thought she had seen my pumpkin.  It had been put out with the garbage at another neighbors house.  I speculate that it had blown into their backyard and when they found it that day they’d just dragged it out front to be taken away.  I marched right down there, got my precious pumpkin and happily returned home.

All was well until I tried to plug it in again.  Poor thing was full of holes and wasn’t able to inflate any longer.  Oh well.  It looks like I’ll be without my giant pumpkin this year.  I’ll wait until after Halloween for the sales and go shopping for another one.

Here is my runaway pumpkin.  I got him back after his night flying around the neighborhood but unfortunately he's full of holes and won't inflate anymore.

Here is my runaway pumpkin. I got him back after his night flying around the neighborhood but unfortunately he’s full of holes and won’t inflate anymore.

The moral to this story is that had I been in just a little better shape and been able to sprint just a teensy bit faster I’d have been able to catch my pumpkin.  Guess this means I’ll have to work a little bit harder!  You should do the same because you never know when you’ll have to chase a giant pumpkin down the street at 2:30am!

*As an aside, my across the street neighbor who seems to be present to see my few less than stellar moments (like when I missed the driveway and drove over a bit of the lawn and a bush on the way into my garage) told me yesterday he’d witnessed me running around in the street that night and got a good laugh out of watching me.  Gee whiz…*

10 responses

  1. this pumpkin is the BEST !

    1. Thank you! My poor pumpkin was so full of holes after that adventure I had to throw him out! Now the squirrels are eating part of the outdoor display I had left! Oh my…my Halloween adventures this year are quite crazy!

  2. Great story Doctor! So did your neighbor get any good pictures? I don’t think you should feel too bad about your speed, it can’t be easy running in Halloween slippers. I have to imagine you are one of the faster runners on your block. It sounds like you really go all out for Halloween. Take some more pics for us! I have some Reese’s for you. Enjoy your Fright-nights!

  3. Lol! I needed a laugh. Your brought a big smile to my face. I’m like you as I can always find a moment when I can just laugh at something I have done. Love the pic Lynn as your smile outshines the pumpkin. UROCK!

  4. Reblogged this on Pumpkinwalk and commented:
    I haven’t yet seen a flying pumpkin.

    1. Hi! Oh my goodness…that was quite a surprise! I came SO close to catching it after it made a pit stop in the neighbors juniper bush. It was inches away from my grasp. Crazy night with a very high flying pumpkin!!

      1. Your post was so well written it was almost like being there!

      2. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. That was quite a middle-of-the-night adventure!

  5. Such a sexy gorgeous smile Lynn with all due respect and yes good msg too lol

    1. Thank you! That was a crazy night. I can’t believe that thing worked its way out of the ground. It was pounded in with 4 stakes but the wind was so strong. Sure hope you’re doing well. I haven’t been to bb.com in a while but when I stop by I’ll come around and see you. Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

