Happy Birthday To Me!

What does 50 look like?  It looks like this!

I'm 50 years old.  Oh MY!

I’m 50 years old. Oh MY!

Each year for the past 5 years I’ve posted an official birthday photo on Bodybuilding.com.  I do it as a documentation tool to help keep myself on the right track.  I have a particular physique that I work toward and taking a moment each year to see how I stack up to my own ideal helps keep me honest.

Now for that honest moment.  I don’t look as good as I did last year at this time.  That’s just the truth.  It’s not function of advanced age, I assure you.  It’s just that I haven’t been working quite as hard as I was last year at this time.  I go through high energy times and low energy times with regard to my workouts.  Right now I’m enjoying one of those high energy times but that’s only been true for the past week.  Before that, I had a long while where I  just wasn’t pushing quite as hard.  The desire wasn’t there, at least not strongly enough to make me do it.  That’s the way it goes with me.  I understand it and don’t get upset when I’m cruising/maintaining rather than actively building muscle, stamina and strength.

I should add that just because I acknowledge that I’m not quite as cut and muscled up as I was last year on my birthday, doesn’t mean I’m unhappy with my physique.  I’m not that hard on myself.  I’m pleased that I’ve kept my commitment to hit the gym regularly this past year just as I did in the 21 years before.  Regular exercise brings great riches into my life….riches of balance, inner calm and deep personal satisfaction.

I made it to 50 and I’m all too aware that many people don’t get that opportunity.  I’m grateful that I get more days to try to improve myself and maybe bring some cheer into the world  Goodness knows we’re living in challenging times.  Our hard-won freedom and liberty is under assault seemingly at every turn.  There is wickedness afoot and there are enemies both outside and inside the gates.   I can’t hold back the tide all by myself (and thankfully, I don’t have to) but I can certainly stand with my brothers and sisters out there and try to be a light in my little corner of the world.  Happy to be here and happy to have you to share bits of my journey with.

eagle

Now where is my birthday champagne?  It’s supposed to be chilling in that little, silver bucket on the side of my soapbox!

16725449-celebration-theme-with-splashing-champagne-isolated-on-black-background

Cheers my friends!

Cheers my friends!

21 responses

  1. 50 is looking mighty fine! You’re amazing.

  2. Always impressive my friend! & Happy Birthday to you! 🙂

    1. Why thank you! Now that I’m old I better make sure to keep myself in the gym. Glad you stopped by!

  3. happy belated bday super lynn! you look totally fantastic not for 50.. but any age!

    1. VINNY!! Thank you so much! Guess what? I’m still celebrating. One day is not enough for me! Hope your Monday is off to a fantastic start!

  4. A little late to this but happy birthday!! I would never ever have guessed you were even in your 40’s based on your pics. GORGEOUS!!!

    1. Why thank you! I do think that exercise gets you as close to the fountain of youth as possible. Still looking for the actual fountain but…
      Glad you stopped by. Wishing you a great week ahead!

  5. happy birthday doc u look awesome as always enjoy ur month

    1. Thank you! Yes! I do like a LOOOONNNGGG celebration! Wishing you a great weekend!

  6. happy 50th birthday doc. Living example of what fitness is all about.

  7. Happy B-Day. The hardest part about turning 50 was just saying it but you have found the fountain of youth. Lookin good Doc.

    1. Thank you! Yeah…I sure don’t like saying it but I guess it’s a whole lot better than the alternative. Thanks for the smile!

  8. Lynn,you may not be as hard & cut as last year ,but your still a very beautiful woman ! Love ya, Lynn . You knock me out!

    1. Thanks SO much! I’m so glad you stopped in and left me such a nice note. Wishing you a fantastic weekend!

  9. Champagne? More like protein shakes. Congrats on your bday & a body well earned.

    1. Hi! Thanks so much. I made it another year. Lol How about champagne AND protein shakes?

  10. Happy Birthday Lynn! You look beautiful as ever. Keep rockin it 🙂

    1. YOU are the sweetest thing ever! Thank you!

  11. Happy birthday & congratulations beautiful!

    1. Why thank you so much! Looking forward to the year ahead!

  12. WooHoo!!! Congratulations and God Bless You!!!!

    You are stunning!!!

Leave a Reply

