Suffer In Silence!

Suffer in silence! This is a saying we have in our family.  When someone starts whining one of us will look at the other and offer up that admonishment.  But NO, NO! I’m not going to suffer in silence.  I’m going to share with all of you, my lucky friends.

The week before the New Year I re-doubled my efforts to gain some lean muscle.  I added daily (with Sunday’s off) chin ups to a more aggressive lifting routine.  Today everything hurts.  Everything!  My legs are fatigued and shaky, my triceps are on fire, my back is sore…very, very sore.  I keep looking at my pull up bar and the idea of even trying a chin up is horrifying.

1blog

The reason I’m telling you this is that people often have the mistaken impression that once you’re a seasoned lifter, you no longer face the spectre of intense soreness when you work out.  This couldn’t be farther from the truth.  Every time you make significant changes that challenge your body in new ways, you’re going to feel it.  All the newbies out there who are just embarking on their road to fitness, take heart.  It happens to everybody who actually pushes the way you must to achieve the results you want.  It’s just part of the game.

529211630cf28e904da2d6fb-610xh

There’s a saying…EMBRACE THE SUCK.  And you know what?  I would, except I can’t lift my arms.  I’ll just have to embrace it in my mind…and I do.  Oh yes, I DO!  If you don’t already, you’ll learn over the course of time to look for, chase and even embrace that particular “I did it to myself” feeling.

Now I must excuse myself and go do some chin ups!

6 responses

  1. Oh yes, I have a hat that has “EMBRACE THE SUCK” on it! I wear it often to the gym. I have repositioned some fitness goals this year and I often wonder why I attempt to do this at the beginning of the year. The gyms are busting with the “resolutioners”. I am always all for new people starting their journey, I am not a fan of the ones that think that gym time is a social gathering. The dudes that stack weight on and do like 3 half reps all while grunting as if they are trying to emulate some wild animals mating call. Which brings me to my least favorite people (and often realize how lucky I am that I am not a female)…the dudes that try to pick up every female in the gym while they are working out. Sometimes, I am embarrassed by my fellow Soldiers. Being that I have a daughter, I guess I am sometimes overly protective of all females. My beautiful spider monkey, I again wish you nothing but the best in 2014 and look forward to what each day will bring!

    1. Well I love that you’re protective and I’ll bet you were like that even before you had that beautiful daughter of yours. It’s in your nature (and it’s a good thing). Oh, I make myself laugh. It just occurred to me that together we’re MONKEYLICIOUS! Ha, ha…As you can see the new year has not dampened my silly sense of humor. I’m doing some repositioning at the gym too. I’m still on my usual quest to gain muscle and keep un-fluffy but I have a new approach. It’s good to change things up but I have to remind myself of that at times. I tend to like to to the same thing over and over….for years at a time. I have a goal set for the end of March since that’s when I’ve planned a trip to the beach. I want to look just so and I work with short term fitness goals better than long term ones. We shall see what happens over the next few months. I think this year will be good for us!

  2. I love this! No pain No gain. Taking some young guys through the gym and push them to their limits e.g. once in a while using straps on lat pulldown and doing dropsets, so they can’t escape easily haha but yet they still come in the next day saying they don’t ache. Ego? time will tell. Great post 🙂

    1. I’ll bet they’re sore. I know I get serious DOMS when I change up my program and I’m really working hard. For me it’s true…no pain, no gain! So glad you stopped to leave me a note! Happy Monday and happy workouts!

  3. Hi! Happy New Year Al!

  4. That’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

