Chin Ups, What Have You Done For Me Lately? (Update)

On Saturday I ended the first phase of the chin up program I’ve been on (if you want to see the program detailed please refer to my December 31st, 2013 blog entry).  Hard to believe it’s already been four complete weeks but it has.  I already documented my first week in the blog post on December 31st  and here is the documentation for the subsequent three weeks.  As you can see I was able to increase the total number of chin ups I did each week which was the goal.  The last week I managed to bang out 100 chin ups a day (Monday – Friday) That was a psychological milestone of sorts since I picked that number precisely because it seemed intimidating.    I was quite sore when I began my chin ups in the morning on some days but found that after that first awful set, my body adjusted pretty well and sheer determination kept me stuck fast to my goal.  I was able to increase my number of chin ups in the 5 minute challenge each week until I got to week 4 when I got one less than I had the week before  (44).

weekly chin up totals for Monday - Friday and  Saturday 5 minute challenges.

weekly chin up totals for Monday – Friday and Saturday 5 minute challenges.

I found that the number of chin ups I could turn out over the course of the day increased quickly but the number I could do in a 5 minute span did not.  Nevertheless, over the span of the 4 weeks I did  1,140 chin ups and that certainly has to count for something.

Biceps about 2.5 weeks into the chin up program

Biceps about 2.5 weeks into the chin up program

My non-glamorous, just-up-in-the-morning self standing in a bathtub.  This was taken at the end of the 4 weeks.  I think I might be adding a little upper body muscle but I'm also just generally fluffy right now. I'm not as cut as usual although I haven't gained any weight.  In the next couple of weeks I'll add more cardio to my program to bring back those nice cuts I like while at the same time keeping my new 2 ounces of muscle mass.

My non-glamorous, just-up-in-the-morning self standing in a bathtub. This was taken at the end of the 4 weeks. I think I might be adding a little upper body muscle but I’m also just generally fluffy right now. I’m not as cut as usual although I haven’t gained any weight. In the next couple of weeks I’ll add more cardio to my program to bring back those nice cuts I like while at the same time attempting to keep my new 2 ounces of muscle mass.

I can’t say that I see a dramatic difference in my physique but I can say that I think I see small changes. On the good side my whole upper body appears to be a bit thicker/more muscular which I love.  I don’t think my biceps in particular look very different however.  I’m anxious to start this next phase of weighted pull ups to see what happens next.  As I did with the first phase I will modify the program a little.  I will do the weighted chin ups twice a week over a 6 week period.  This will help keep my elbows from getting sore.  I think doing weighted chin ups the recommended three times a week for four weeks would put too much strain on them.

It should be interesting to see what the next six weeks brings in terms of my physique.   I’ll let you know!  In the meantime,  keep chipping away at your own fitness goals.  Let’s make good use of these first days of 2014!

1304799096681cf5a4a5101ac82093768eb948fd6b96730abf46

16 responses

  1. What?! I could of sworn that I commented on this…I mean it shows my beautiful spider monkey in yet another pair of killer shoes! No one could pull off making ANY shoe you put on look good like you can. Must be those AMAZING legs of yours! Oh by the way, I see you did a couple of pullups…good job! 🙂

    1. I LOVE pull ups now! I’m on to the second phase of the program and I’m already tweaking it quite a bit. I increased the number I do each session to 50 instead of 25 and I’m doing them three times a week (which is what the program calls for but I thought it might be too much so I just did it twice the first week). I love that you notice the shoes! Those are little metal spikes on them. You can’t tell that in the photo. They just look like dots. They sure seem like naughty shoes to me! Lol

  2. I like your comment in week two, “so sore-thought I was going to die” and than you kicked butt in week 3 and 4. Way to push through the hurt. Keep it going Doc. Can’t wait to see the final tally/results.

    1. Ah ha!! You can read my chicken scratch! Made me laugh. I was SO sore that day. I had just done a heavy duty chest/back workout the day before and my body wasn’t interested in doing ANY chin ups that day!

  3. Wow! What an amazing accomplishment. I think the pull up is the ultimate test of upper body strength, so you must be extremely strong.

    1. I do feel strong right now. Soon I’ll turn my attention to getting my body to function more efficiently with cardio exercise. I think that means I’ll have to do some icky running. Lol

    2. I agree, well done Lynn.

      1. Thanks. I’m really happy with this program so far. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens from here.

  4. Now wouldn’t wearing heals that high make you closer to the pull up bar? All your hard work shows in all you do Lynn. I’m so proud of you. Hope you continue to count your Blessings.

    1. Yes! These heels are excellent for pull ups and squats! Lol

  5. Excellent! You look terrific!

    1. Thank you Al! I’m very pleased at how fast my ability to do large numbers of chin ups increased. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next with my physique. Happy Wednesday!

  6. I think you look incredible:) You motivated me to start the Chin Up Project and I’m seeing and getting really good results. I’m going on week three.

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you joined me. I’m really happy with how this chin up program is going and I’m delighted to hear that you’re getting good results too. I’m looking forward to the next few weeks. Can’t wait to see what the weighted chin ups do for me!

  7. Pullups are working big time for you! Lynn you are needed for the USMC PT women’s program. As you are probably aware a majority of the women marines are having a tough time meeting pullup requirements. In my opinion, they are in need of specific guidance for this exercise and I can’t think of no one more qualified to do this whether it be in person or through a written program. As usual, you look beautiful as ever, love the pics. UROCK Beautiful Lynn with a BIG Heart 🙂

    1. I saw a detailed news story to that effect and it gave me pause. I actually created a post about it because I found it disturbing that instead of taking steps to get the women to have success meeting the goal of three pull ups, they dropped the requirement all together. It wouldn’t be quite so upsetting but women will be allowed into combat roles soon and upper body strength is paramount to their safety/efficacy and that of their battle buddies. The ability to do pull ups can be taught. It takes some time because you have to develop supporting muscle to allow it but it’s certainly within the power of females to do them. I blame the training and if you look you can find endless programs on the internet that will help increase the number of pull ups you can do (and get you to be able to do a few if you can’t do any when you begin). Seems like a safety issue to me…

Leave a Reply

