Secret Weapon For Fat Loss

I’m not one who believes in going hungry.  Severely restricting calories and walking around starving will work in the short-term but who enjoys suffering the accompanying growling stomach, headaches, mood swings, shakiness and fuzzy thinking?

When I see fluff accumulating (and this is an assessment I make by taking a critical look in the mirror, not stepping on a scale) I take steps to remedy it before it gets out of hand.  It’s so much easier to tighten it up when its a matter of shedding a few little pounds (like 2-5) instead of trying to lose 10 or more.

Once I’ve made the decision to get rid of those undesirable pounds, I head to the kitchen and get out my big, black pot.  Time to go to work making homemade soup! Yes, soup is my secret weapon!  I make it myself because store-bought soups are often very high in sodium, have unwanted additives, and even the soups that say they have meat in them have very little protein content.  All the soups I make are easy to put together.

The majority of them are chicken broth based.  If you don’t want to buy a whole chicken and make the broth yourself, you can use the organic chicken broth you find in the soup aisle.  That’s a super easy way to go.  You buy a couple of boxes, put them into your pot and start adding your other ingredients.

photo

If you prefer making your own broth, you can buy a whole chicken throw it in a pot of water and boil it until it shreds easily, discard the skin and pull the meat from the carcass.  Tear it into small pieces and set it aside. Take the liquid from the boiled chicken, separate the fat off the top and use the rest as a base for your soup.  Add your chicken pieces back in along with your other ingredients and simmer for an hour.  If you’re short on time, you can just buy a pre-cooked chicken at the grocery store.  Most of them have a deli area where they sell rotisserie baked chickens and these work perfectly for the soup.

My basic recipe is as follows

Chicken broth

1.5 cups chopped celery

2 cups chopped carrots

4 cups diced chicken

salt and pepper to taste

That’s it! From there you can add other things like, peas, chopped kale, onion, canned tomatoes or just enjoy the basic soup.

In order to combat unwanted fluff,  I’ll eat the soup for lunch but also have a bowl before I eat my other meals. It fills me up with good, clean food and I eat less of whatever else is in front of me.  For instance, Friday night was pizza night.  I ate my bowl of soup first and then was quite satisfied with a single piece of the pizza and some salad.  Under normal circumstances I could easily eat 3 or 4 slices before feeling full.

Yum!   This soup tastes good, is healthy and helps in the battle to strip fat.

Yum! This soup tastes good, is healthy and helps in the battle to strip fat.

A bowl of good soup before meals keeps me from filling up on the more calorie dense foods to follow.  I still get to eat them but I’m perfectly satisfied with smaller servings.  It helps me strip fat from my physique and more importantly I can do it without suffering!

Before and After adding delicious, nutritious soup to the eating plan!

Before and After adding delicious, nutritious soup to the eating plan!

7 responses

  1. I am also not a big fan of going hungry! I was working with a fintess consultant for about 8 weeks and she had me on a low calorie diet and I was really struggling. I told her I was hungry all the time and she said that I “need to get use to it”. So, I terminated our relationship. I like the idea of eating your yummy soup before a meal to fill up on the good stuff to eat less of the bad stuff. Great strategy! Thanks for sharing.

    1. I am so against walking around hungry especially since you can reach your goals without doing that. When any part of a fitness program is very uncomfortable, it’s destined for failure. I think you made an excellent decision when you moved away from that particular consultant. Anyone can starve themselves and be miserable for a while but eventually it’s going to stop working. People are only willing to suffer for so long!

  2. patiently waiting for some homemade soup…

    1. Lish! I would love to feed you homemade soup. It’s good for everything – building muscle, fat loss, grouchy mood, hangnails… I make chicken soup most often but later this week it’s going to be minestrone. Yum! It’s been kind of cold and gloomy so soup is just what the doctor ordered.

  3. I am a fan for home made soup. The nutritious soup to the eating plan snowman results are awesome 🙂

    1. Me too Matt! I love soup even in the summer! Even when I’m not too fluffy I’ll often make some on Sunday so I have it to eat during the week. I like the way it tastes and I like knowing what’s in my food!

Leave a Reply

