Like A Fine Wine…

I’m always preaching to people about not letting age be a barrier to starting on the road to fitness.  I will concede that progress tends to be just a tiny bit slower when you’re over 40 but great strides can still be made.  There is no reason to conclude that simply because you’re out of your twenties, you’re done for and must be relegated to the couch eating chips and dreaming about the potential you used to have.

Not only can you get fit once you’re in your 30’s, 40’s, 50’s or 60’s, if you’re already fit you can still improve!  I have proof.  I first popped up on the scene at Bodybuilding.com when I was about 45.  I had been working out for many years already (about 17) and was no stranger to the lifestyle.

A nice friend from there put together a very short video using a few of my photos from that time.  It’s a silly little production but it will prove my point.  You can easily see the state of my physique 5 years ago.

 

Stop laughing and let’s get back to the point.  I wasn’t in terrible shape then but if you compare my physique then to what it consistently looks like now, you will see improvement.  Between the ages of 45 and 50, I got better and closer to my  goals!  bodybuilding/bodysculpting is a great pursuit.  It doesn’t matter how old you are, you can still weight train.  Not only can you do it, you can have great success.  They say “Iron doesn’t lie” and that’s the truth.  Do the work, get the reward….no matter how old you are!

This is me at 50...just in case you had any doubts about being able to keep it together.  You most certainly CAN!  A little time, a little attention and persistence and "Voila!"

This is me at 50…just in case you had any doubts about being able to keep it together. You most certainly CAN! A little time, a little attention and persistence and “Voila!”

 

 

16 responses

  1. Beautiful as always darlin!

    1. Thank you so much! Hope you’re doing well and that you’re enjoying the last hours of this beautiful weekend!

  2. Oh how beautiful my little spider monkey is; however, my opinion may be slightly biased. Love those boots.

    1. Why thank you Lish! My new boots make me happy! I can actually walk in those unlike some of the shoes I take photos wearing. Lol

    2. Wishing you a wonderful Easter afternoon. I’m all stuffed with great food. Had a nice brunch after church and there were just so many delicious things to eat. I had to try everything. My plate looked like a little mountain all piled with food.

  3. Congrats Doc Lynn! You are the model of persistent, focused effort!

    Kudos!!!

    1. Thank you! I do love the discipline of working out consistently. It just feels good! Wishing you a MOST excellent end to your Easter day!

  4. You are truly the definition of fine wine!

    1. Thank you! I have so much fun challenging myself in the gym. I think it keeps you feeling young even past 50!

  5. Looking Good as Always. I look forward to reading your thoughts for the week. May you and yours have a great weekend.

    1. Hi! I had a great weekend. It was a lovely Easter Sunday…the sky is blue, the service was beautiful…I ate like a horse. Lol…I really did eat a lot of good food and enjoyed it immensely! Hope you had a perfect weekend!

  6. Drop Alive gorgeous

    1. Hi Artie! Thank you…and good morning! Hope your week went well and that your workouts have been fun. Happy weekend!

      1. Hey there beautiful..yes it is..miss you on BB…I have one progress pic in my gallery

      2. Hi Artie! I went over there and took a look. Very nice. You have such a great smile! Hope you enjoyed your Easter day as much as I did. I’m full of wonderful food!

      3. You have a nice smile too Lynn 🙂

Leave a Reply

