Born To Run

2f917b8aa69dedd3a1cacd7061c94e9d

My boys have always wanted a dog and had recently resorted to telling me that if I continued to deny them the opportunity I was going to ruin their childhood.  That’s not what made me finally relent but now that they are older (10 & 16), they’re able to shoulder the responsibilities of pet ownership (under adult supervision, of course).   We now have not one, but two husky puppies at our house.

Huskies are bred to be working dogs.  They like to have a “job.”  They are curious and very energetic.  All the research I did on the breed told me that they need and want A LOT of exercise and that’s where I come in.  It seems I’ve added two cardio partners into my life.  A happy husky is a well exercised husky.  They are born to run….they want to run….they NEED to run.

Did I ever mention I’m not a runner?

What I should say is that I wasn’t a runner until now.  Part of the commitment I had to be willing to make was to see the dogs get proper exercise.  They don’t love the heat so early morning exercise is best for them.  Conveniently, this is when the boys are at school (or in the summer at work/camp etc).  That leaves me.

I’ve accepted the idea and am now actually looking forward to our runs.  Luckily, they are too young to go quite yet so we’ll start with slow walks, then fast walks, then jogs…then jogs with some real running thrown in.  We’ll grow into it together.

The good news is that for the next number of years I’ll have a built-in reason to exercise every day.  While I might be willing to flake on myself once in a while, how could I ever deny my new little favorite, bestest, most adorable, darling babies…..I mean, the puppies, their daily excursion?

DSCN9639 DSCN9634

20140610_184141-1 20140610_184132-1

9 responses

  1. They are almost as beautiful as their master…showed my daughter and she is completely jealous!

    1. Lishie! I’m in love with these little sweethearts. I didn’t think I would feel this way. I got them for the boys but I ended up being crazy for them. I spend a lot of time just watching and playing with them. We’re learning how to walk together when they’re on the leash. Those little pups make me laugh all the time!

  2. Your puppies are soooo cute!!! I didn’t know huskies love to run. They seem like great dogs. Enjoy your new cardio buds!

    1. The good thing is that we all get to start out slowly…otherwise I might die. I’m REALLY not a runner…yet. They don’t seem to mind the leash. I think they’re getting used to it but when we go out, they cross in front of me and each other. We all trip and bumble along. We’ll get the hang of it soon….

      1. You will get there! Yea, it sounds like it could be a bit clumsy, but as long as you are all getting in your workout it doesn’t matter! =)

  3. names what did u name them

    1. Hi there! Do you know I’ve never had a dog before. This is an adventure for all of us. I just love those little, sweet puppies!

  4. Truly adorable puppies.

    1. Thank you…they stole my heart! So darling!

Leave a Reply

