Preparing to Compete in the Bikini Division

Those of you who hang out in the gym like I do, know that sometimes you’ve got the mojo and sometimes you don’t.  Not having the mojo doesn’t mean you don’t show up at the gym but it does mean that it’s more of a grind and not as much fun as when you’re “in the groove.”  Over the last 22 years I’ve noticed that it’s a cyclical thing.  Most of the time I feel very strong, energetic and I look forward to my time lifting but inevitably there are those times that I have to drag myself in the door and I can’t seem to muster the kind of intensity that I like.  That’s what I mean when I say I’m suffering from low mojo…and it must be battled.  When that feeling steals over my inner landscape, I look for new things to peak my interest, get the juices flowing and challenge me.  That’s why I’m going to use the next few months to prep for my first competition.  November 1st is the day…and I’ll be prepping for the bikini division!

I said I’d be prepping…and that’s exactly what I meant.  I have absolutely no intention of actually setting foot on any kind of stage in my tiny bikini, posing for a panel of judges BUT I have a good friend who is actually going to get up on stage on November 1st.  We decided I could tag along on the journey as a cheerleader…not the kind with pom-poms but the kind who keeps you company even if only in cyberspace.  I know from experience it helps to know someone else is suffering…I mean, working along with you.  I’m going to do the workouts and the nutrition plan just as if I was going to let a panel of judges have a look at me.  I think it will be fun and it gives me something to work towards.  It will be interesting to see what my physique looks like on November 1st.

Here is a very high quality photo of what I look like today.  I know...chicken legs!

Here is a very high quality photo of what I look like today. I know…chicken legs!

 

Side shot today.  Another very high quality phone photo!

Side shot today. Another very high quality phone photo!

I chose to prep for the bikini division instead of the figure or physique because I don’t think I have enough muscle for figure or physique unless it was a local, small competition.  I don’t have time to gain the mass I’d need to really be competitive so I’ll concentrate on just getting good and tight for the bikini division.  In reality, I’d probably get marked down in bikini since there are parts of my body (shoulders and back) that typically show some striations which is not what bikini judges want to see.  It would be safe to say that as my physique stands now, I’m not a great candidate for any of the divisions.

Now that I’m going to prep for a competition, I have to eat like it.  This was my breakfast this morning.  See how you have to suffer to prep?

My breakfast

My breakfast

 

Ha!  I just put this photo here to horrify some of you.  I know it looks unappetizing but this is what I eat for breakfast almost every morning.  I LIKE IT!  It has nothing to do with competition prep.  It’s a 4 egg white omelette (with nothing inside) and a piece of sourdough toast with butter.   Later in morning I had a half a peach and .620z almonds (100 calorie pack), Lunch was two chicken tacos on flour tortillas with guacamole and pico de gallo.  Afternoon snack was a peach (I love them) and buffalo jerky…yum!  Dinner will be an 8oz beef filet, three large shrimp, broccoli, and a big salad (no dressing…I don’t like it).  This represents a normal eating day for me although I often eat green veggies with my lunches.  I have no idea how many calories I typically take in.

I won’t change my diet until about 8 weeks out from the competition and then I’ll be more strict with my planning.  Until then, I’ll just eat sensibly as I always try to do and keep working hard in the gym.  I won’t start a lot of extra cardio until about 8 weeks out either.  I’ll just stick with my 15- 30 minutes, 5 days a week.

Gee….all that talk about stricter food intake and more cardio made me hungry….I want a dark chocolate truffle…and some potato chips!

17 responses

  1. Okay here is my two cents or maybe five cents. When I first start working out I gained muscle mass very fast and for the first six years everyone kept begging me to compete. I told them I was not ready to wear speedos on staged getting starred at. Well to make a long story short I competed in my first contest at the age of 41 and placed 1st in Novice Men’s short, Novice Overall and Masters over 35! My first thought that came to mind was “why in the heck did I wait so long”? To be honest I just happen to be shy. Yes indeed I have been bitten by the competition bug. I have competed in 13 shows since and have always placed in the top five. I know you have been told by many to compete and I feel that once you go through your journey with your good friend and see her on stage bringing home the hardware you will say to yourself “why didn’t I just join her on stage’ and bring home my well deserved hardware to?”. To me I could not imagine my life without my two awesome sons. Now that I have competed I am so glad I did because it was something I always wondered how I would do and feel and now all I can say is that I’m glad I did. Bottomline you are depriving your fans because you with no doubt are a champion with all you do….

    1. I’m shy too. I just don’t like the idea of being in the spotlight for inspection. I do see the appeal of it for people, however. I do admire those who are willing to do what it takes to step on stage. I just don’t want to do it, especially now. There was a time a few years ago when I was close to taking the plunge but I didn’t have any real-life support (from family or friends) so that kind of made up my mind. Now I’m content to just lift for the love of it. It has so many great side effects…like keeping me stress free (or at least giving me a place to blow off steam). I am looking forward to seeing if I can get my carcass in competition shape just for fun. It gives me something concrete to work towards. Hmmmm….are potato chips on the competition diet menu?!?

  2. Hope you change your mind and do it for real in the end…. get on stage. You’d probably win!

    1. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens. I think this will be a great kick in the pants for me. I can already feel the intensity of my workouts increasing and I’m paying better attention to my food quality/intake. This is going to be fun! Perhaps I’ll arrange to have professional photos taken at the end just to add some extra incentive! The photos can be my reward. Sending you wishes for happy workouts over the next few days!

    2. I agree!

  3. Awesome! Keep it up! We know you can do it… I’m happy for you…

    1. Hi wonderful Al!! I’m excited to see what happens with my physique if I really put some effort in. Keeping my friend company as he preps to step on stage for real is a great incentive for me to put my nose to the grindstone. I already feel more energized and I’m putting more effort into my workouts. I sure hope you’re doing well! It’s been a while since I caught up with you. Hope you’re getting a chance to relax and that you enjoy the holiday weekend. I know that’s often the time you have to work MORE. Have a good weekend…and good workouts too, of course!

  4. Your body already looks healthy and strong! Good luck during your journey and I think that is awesome that you will be cheering on your friends!

    1. Thank you so much! I think this is going to be a fun way to get myself in tip-top shape and encourage my friend along the way too. Sending you wishes for an excellent day!

  5. What a great idea to motivate yourself and as well to help your friend.

    1. It’s giving me the kick in the pants I need. I’m feeling much more energized and can’t wait to see what happens over the next months. Hope you’re doing well and that you’re enjoying your workouts!

  6. Doc,

    Get your chicken legs on that podium and be all you can be. You know, I might get my bikini out and join you on the stage. You will be sure to win.

    1. Bet your legs are better than mine! Lol…I’ve always had chicken legs…matter of fact my first boyfriend’s father used to call me Chicken Legs. It’s taken me decades to get them to look like this. Honestly, you should have seen me when I started….kinda like skeleton legs. They are massive compared to where I started!

  7. You go girl you just might surprise yourself can’t wait to see your body of work.

    1. Thanks for the support! I’m looking forward to seeing what I can come up with. It’s a few months away so it’s long enough to really see some positive changes.

  8. It’s about time you stepped on stage. Can’t wait to see your conditioning. Good Luck!

    1. Hi Adom! I’m going to do everything I can to get prepared even though I won’t actually be in the competition. I just want to see what my physique will look like and since my friend is actually competing, I have someone to keep company on the journey. Should be fun!

Leave a Reply

