On My Way To The Pretend Stage (Progress Report)

I made a commitment to keep a friend of mine company on his way to the stage this November.  I thought it would be interesting to tag along and try to get myself into top shape just as if I was going to compete myself.  To that end, I’ve been lifting hard and heavy and I’ve just started trying to focus on my diet so that I’ll be nice and cut when show time arrives.

Progress photo

Progress photo

That being said, I have to admit I’ve not done the best job with my food intake this week.  Actually, I can’t think of one, single thing I cut portions on or denied myself in the last 7 days.  I have increased my water and green vegetable intake so that’s got to count for something.  Perhaps it’s a good thing I never actually entered a contest….

We’ll see how the next few weeks goes.

Kinda how I feel although I haven't deviated from my normal, reasonable healthy diet.  I didn't eat a bunch of treats or anything but I failed to whittle down my caloric intake.

Kinda how I feel although I haven’t deviated from my normal, reasonable healthy diet. I didn’t eat a bunch of treats or anything detrimental but I failed to whittle down my caloric intake.

9 responses

  1. Lookin’ great, Doc! And please note: my belly weighs more than just one of your arms. 🙂

    1. Hello and happy Thursday! Your comment made me smile…thank you!!

  2. I am in contest prep too!!! As long as I stay focused, train right and eat healthy I WILL achieve my goal! You wait, my beautiful spider monkey, I am going to hit the stage and win it all! The crown is in my sights. ..I will be the best “before model” ever!

    Unfortunately, with my joints all going to he’ll in a hand basket, that before model things is probably pretty accurate. I can’t lift more than 20 pounds right now and that even hurts. I go see Ortho again towards the end of the month. The Army has eaten me up and spit me out. Trying to get everything fixed so I can stop this backwards momentum. ..

    You always look fantastic and you know that I adore you always! Have a great Labor Day weekend, I will talk to you soon.

  3. Looking GOOD! Keep it up!

    1. Thank you Al!! I went for a walk this morning with the dogs and just started noticing some yellow leaves on the trees. Wow…first sign of fall…I don’t mind. It’s my favorite season. Soon it’ll be time to decorate for Halloween (Sept 15th at my house)!

  4. Lynn, how did you get to the top of those rocks with those shoes on? You are such the Motivator. Love the bulldog pic too. Hope you and the boys ( I mean young men ) are having a wonderful Blessed weekend. Thanks again for the book. Mess

    1. Hi Mess! I climbed up there in my tennis shoes, then threw them down to my son who threw my high heels up! Lol…we did the reverse on the way down. I learned my lesson when I tried to climb up on top of the propane tank with those tall yellow boots on. Much easier to climb when you’re not wearing “fashion” shoes!

    1. Thank you Artie! I’m doing my best to reach peak condition. It will be interesting to see how the next weeks go. I’ve never tried competition prep before so it will be interesting. How are things in your neck of the woods? Hope you’re doing well inside the gym and out!

Leave a Reply

