Birthday Thoughts

My official  51st birthday photo.   I actually do have some muscle in my legs BUT you just can't see it here...I swear!

My official 51st birthday photo. I actually do have some muscle in my legs BUT you just can’t see it here…I swear!

Here I am celebrating my 51st birthday, happy to be healthy and so enjoying my family and friends. I think a lot about my good fortune. I’m still here when so many other kind, brave and wise people have had to leave life so early. I’m always pushing to make myself better with the realization that these days are a gift and I fully intend to use them well. I’ve said it before and will say it again, I want to be proud of myself when I die. That’s the stick I measure myself with. I always fall short BUT I’m always pushing to be better and I do give myself gold stars for each little thing I’m able to improve.

Later, when someone asks me what I remember about my birthday this year, I will tell them about my gratitude for more days, about my delight in being here to raise my children and also about how awful it feels to be waiting for the President of the United States to willfully rip up our Constitution as he has threatened to do. He has made it clear, yet again, that he’s only interested in enforcing laws he agrees with. When it comes to our immigration law, the will of the people be damned. He believes he knows better and will use his executive powers to thwart the laws that are on the books. I find it distressing.

Please understand, it doesn’t matter if you agree with the outcome of his action or not. His promise to circumvent Congress like this is a disgusting display. It sets a dangerous precedent going forward which is why even if you like the result of what he’s about to do you should object to the method most strenuously. It’s a matter of power gone wild, political hubris in the extreme and those who are applauding his actions are incredibly misguided. Rest assured, if this does happen, it will happen again in the future with some other issue. When another President gets tired of waiting for Congress to fix something he thinks is broken he will use this as benchmark for his own actions. Once a course like this is taken successfully, it’s impossible to see that it doesn’t happen again. It’s an unforgivable breach of public trust, of the Presidential Oath of Office, and it’s extremely dangerous to this nation’s successful future.

It’s times like this, I feel compelled to recommit to efforts to keep myself strong in body, mind and spirit. I’m still here which means I can still do good work. I still have the opportunity to teach and guide my children and I still have something to contribute to the public debate over issues of freedom, liberty and proper conduct in this beautiful country of ours.

See...you can kinda see some hamstring here...Happy Birthday to me!!

See…you can kinda see some hamstring here…Happy Birthday to me!!

22 responses

  1. Oops! and I missed a birthday too – my apologies!!

    1. No apologies necessary. I celebrate ALL MONTH! I figure if I have to get older I may as well enjoy a big long party!!

  2. Happy belated birthday beautiful Lynn 🙂

    1. Thank you Matt! Oh goodness, the years keep rolling by! Glad to be heading into the new one healthy and still getting after the workouts (although I def need to up the intensity)! Have a great Thanksgiving!

      1. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

      2. Did you have a good holiday? I sure did. I ate SO much food but almost all of it was lean protein and vegetables (made with salt pork and onion). The turkey came out really well…juicy and delicious. I ate a lot at the dinner table and a whole bunch more after I cleaned up all the dishes. I am now waddling around. Lol

  3. Happy Birthday my beautiful spider monkey!!!! 51 never looked better! Have a great day!

  4. The gym is the fountain of youth. You look great!

    1. Thank you so much! Glad you stopped by!

  5. Happy Birthday! You’re such a wonderful example of a strong woman who takes care of herself.

    1. Thank you so much! I treated myself to sushi for lunch on my birthday (we had a family celebration on the weekend). I LOVE sushi. I’ve made it at home but I can’t get it to taste the same. One of these days I’d like to take a short class on how to do it correctly. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

      1. Thank-you. My friend took a course on the art of sushi. She made some for us and I have to say, it was pretty good.

  6. Congratulations!!! You look beautiful and stunning!!!

    1. Why thank you *blushing* You’re always so encouraging. Much appreciated…sending you wishes for a lovely afternoon!

  7. Oh happy birthday lol

  8. Happy Birthday Lynn

    1. Mess!! Hi and thank you so much. Looking forward to the year ahead…wonder what it will bring? Enjoy your day!

  9. Wow Lynn you are one hot young lady and are putting these 28 to 30 yrs old to shame..so gorgeous and good looking my fit friend…that smile is a killer as well as your abs, legs, and upper body definitions..you rock like a super fit model

    1. Hi Artie!! Happy Sunday to you. Hope you’re having a fantastic day and thank you, as always, for the sunshine!

  10. Wow, you look great Dr. Lynn and Happy B_Day.

    1. Thank you so much! I do love my gym time…so glad you stopped in and left such a nice note!

Leave a Reply

