Avoid Diet Disasters – Be Prepared

My younger son, who is 11, hopped into the car last Friday and told me that the extra shirt he keeps in his backpack came in handy at school that day (apparently he had the need to wrap it around his head “to be like a ninja”). I wasn’t aware he carried an extra shirt around so I asked him about it. He said that since he’d started reading survival manuals and books a couple of years ago, and found out how important extra cloth could be in a survival situation, he’d always kept the t-shirt stowed away in the inside, zippered pocket.

 

Just a few of my son's reference books.

Just a few of my son’s reference books.

I smiled at that and then reflected on what I carry in my purse on a regular basis. Like my son, I believe it’s good to be prepared. I won’t bore you with the all the various and sundry items I walk around with (my purse weighs several pounds) but I will tell you about what I keep in one of my zippered pouches at all times. FOOD! That’s right, I walk around the world toting snacks wherever I go. I’ve done it for the past couple of decades.

When I first started weight training, I amended my diet to accommodate the need for good, high quality calories. At first, I often found myself out and about without any desirable food alternatives. I didn’t want to rely on fast food, or sugary snacks and so I started keeping healthy snacks in my purse that could tide me over until I could make a nutritious meal. It’s served me well. I never find myself at the mercy of the closest McDonalds when I get hungry.

Over the years, I’ve discovered what food items work best in my purse. I learned quickly not to put squishable foods like bananas in there, even just for the day. Somehow, they always turned into a mushy, oozy brown mess no matter how I tried to place them so they were protected. I also avoid food that rots…just in case I forget it’s there…until, I notice a singularly unpleasant odor following me around.

This is the food pouch I always keep in my purse.  It's not that big but I can fit enough food inside it to keep me happy if I get hungry when I'm out.

This is the food pouch I always keep in my purse. It’s not that big but I can fit enough food inside it to keep me happy if I get hungry when I’m out.

What’s inside, you ask?

Right now I have almond butter, protein powder, mixed nuts and beef jerky in my pouch

Right now I have almond butter, protein powder, mixed nuts and beef jerky in my pouch

I’ve found, over the years that it’s best to be prepared with at least one meal on hand at all times.  That way you can stay true to your nutritional goals and if you do end up with a Big Mac in your hand, it’s because you made a conscious choice to eat it and not because it was the only alternative.

Mr Survival - He wants me to go "survival camping" with him.  That means we don't carry food along on the trip, just forage and eat what we find/catch.  Ummmm....I don't want to eat bugs and giant grubs (that supposedly taste like milk) unless I absolutely have to!  I'm not volunteering for survival camping duty, much to his disappointment.  Maybe HE can survival camp and I'll bring along my little pouch of food just in case grubs are on the dinner menu!

Mr Survival – He wants me to go “survival camping” with him. That means we don’t carry food along on the trip, just forage and eat what we find/catch. Ummmm….I don’t want to eat bugs and giant grubs (that supposedly taste like milk) unless I absolutely have to! I’m not volunteering for survival camping duty, much to his disappointment. Maybe HE can survival camp and I’ll bring along my little pouch of food just in case grubs are on the dinner menu!

 

10 responses

  1. Your son is amazing, Dr. Lynn. And perhaps you will consider Japanese “natto” as emergency food in your tote. It is already rotten so you wouldn’t have to think the smell is a danger signal. 🙂 BTW, not even Marines would eat it.

    1. Oh….I think I’ve heard about natto. I appreciate your kind suggestion and I will take it into consideration 🙂

  2. Oh Lynn, grubs and a little almond butter are phenomenal lol. I’d stick to your little bag too. Have a beautiful Blessed weekend dear friend

    1. Grubs…Yuck! I can’t get that video out of my head. I think it was Les Stroud. He was field dressing a caribou then dug into the hide and pulled out these horrible, white, giant grubs. He passed them around to the crew and they ate them. He said they taste like milk. While he was eating his, you could hear one of his buddies throwing up in the background. Lol….no thanks!!

  3. You could try survival camping in Alaska next to a stream during the salmon run. Food would come right to you door. Or flap, as the case may be.

    1. Eric…that sounds like the kind of survival camping I could handle! It actually sounds pleasurable. I love salmon!

  4. Nice! Can I train your son? I can make him a better sniper. Semper Fi

    1. He would sure love that! Sounds right up his alley. He goes on hunting trips with adults to keep them company (he can’t officially hunt until next year). When he was a little guy (8 years old) he could sit in a freezing cold duck blind all day long without complaint…still and quiet (and he didn’t even get the pleasure of taking the shots. He’s looking forward to next year’s hunting season when he can get his own deer/elk tag. Me too…more great, lean meat for me!

  5. he looks so athletic, reminds me of my son….please go with him to a survival camp, but like you said take some food along in case of an emergency 🙂

    1. Hi and happy Tuesday! I just might have to go survival camping with him. He’s so interested and enthusiastic about the idea. I most definitely WILL be bringing some secret snacks for myself. I would eat a grub…but only if I absolutely HAD to! My son would eat a grub for fun!

Leave a Reply

