Pre-Workout Potions

cant-keep-calm-preworkout-kicked-in

In my entire 23 year love affair with the gym, I’ve never used a pre-workout drink, powder or pill.  They’re supposed to help you get energized before a lifting session and therefore give you a better workout.  I know plenty of people who swear by them but I’ve never wanted to test the waters.  I know my body.  It’s pretty sensitive and I don’t like the idea of revving myself up that way.  What if I get TOO wired?  I have no idea how I’d react to a little pre-workout powder but I don’t want to find out.  I know too much caffeine makes me jittery and jumpy.  It makes my heart race and my hands shake.  It’s not a good feeling so I don’t imagine a pre-workout drink would be much better.

When I need a boost in energy for my workout, I rely on music for that little push.  I have lots of uptempo tunes on my iPod and they do the trick.  I have to update my playlists every so often…too many times listening to the same songs and they lose their potency.  Listening to happy music is the best pre-workout plan for me…and I don’t have to worry about any unwanted side effects!

The memes below are funny but serve to reinforce my conviction that staying away from traditional pre-workout potions is the right choice for me!

6c2c041515a4705e297f6ecd0c5ef46e0d5e22700d92c7dc1aeb9cca14e24c2b

 

 

282dfa282bdd8b15770595f94c215662

 

fitness-meme-pre-workout

image

Bgrug0tIEAAn44l

Who-doesnt-love

6299ab0446906d1d6b1b052683557306

Pre-Workout-Kicks-In-Gym-Meme

54bf2e3b0cf2db42b19ce308-610xh

12 responses

  1. Fun posters! And good for you laying off introducing weird stuff into your body. Have you noticed how – up to a few years ago – Japanese folks looked the way they do…and without pills? 🙂

    1. I try to stick to the basics…good, healthy food, lots of water and that’s it. There’s a huge market for potions to supposedly help people with their workouts. I doubt any of them work well. I guess they work well raising money for the companies that produce them!

      1. Indeed… Just like Racism, Inc. 😦

  2. I don’t drink those either and definitely not “energy drinks.” One of the Five Hour specialities almost killed my son who, up until they took him out of where he works on a stretcher, thought he knew everything.

    1. Oh no! That’s a real fear of mine. I know better than to let that stuff pass my lips. Your poor son…what a horrible experience. They advertise pre-workout potions and 5 hour energy drinks all over the place. My 17 year old occasionally drinks one before track practice. I’ve always strongly advised him against it…but HE thinks he knows everything!

  3. These memes are enough to make you stay away from pre-workout potions. Lol. I try a handful of nuts or a little coffee with almond milk pre-workout.

    1. I drink coffee with almond milk every morning. Isn’t it delicious? I know better than to ingest something that’s going to get me excited. If it works at a level 5 for most people, I’ll be at a level 10! Think other people would be disturbed if I jumped up on a bench beating my chest and screaming “How you like me now?” Ha, ha….

      1. Oh no! Stay away from those crazy potions.

  4. That’s hilarious!!!! I just take Beta-Alanine and works great, I do feel the fire ants on my veins but feels goooood 😛

    1. Fire ants?!? Eek! I don’t like fire ants. Lol…Happy Thursday to you. Sending you wishes for a lovely day (without ants)!

    1. Glad you stopped by! Wishing you a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

