Tis The Season

Ah…it’s that time of year again, when temptation is all around us. Those who are haven’t given up are deep into our New Year’s Resolution promises regarding a healthy eating plan and what little lovelies pop up to lure us into dangerous waters?  Darling little girls in green vests, hiding outside local supermarkets, lurking about grown up workplaces and going from door to door peddling 

IMG_2258

The cookies alone could possibly be resisted but pair them with adorable young ladies with shining eyes and wide smiles and “Poof” even the strongest will power vanishes, spines of steel morph into jello and people are likely to find themselves reaching into their wallets.

I say GREAT!  Scouting provides entertainment, education and camaraderie for young people and here’s something you probably didn’t know. Girl Scout cookies don’t have any calories in them.  That’s right, I looked and they don’t list calories on the ingredient list!  Therefore it’s logical to conclude that consuming them won’t interfere with a nutritionally sound diet.  Buy and eat all the Girl Scout cookies you want!

For those of you who don’t believe that the cookies don’t have calories in them despite my experience and well presented proof, you can always simply donate a few dollars to the Girl Scouts.  They are happy to accept donations.  You can buy the cookies and leave them in the break room at work or at the front desk at the gym as a thoughtful gift for others to enjoy (let THEM blow their diets), or you can limit yourself to just a few boxes and ration them out to yourself in a sensible manner (for instance, you can eat them between sets of pull ups like I did the other day).  No matter which of these suggested routes you choose, you can’t go wrong.

SMALL DISCLAIMER – I was a Girl Scout and have many fond memories of my years in scouting.  I learned to tie knots, cook, sew, build a campfire (the burned hole in the rug wasn’t my fault), and mostly laugh and have fun with friends.  My scouting years were very enjoyable!

I couldn’t find a photo of myself wearing my Girl Scout uniform but here I am in my Brownie uniform with a few friends from school who were also in my troop.  We were 8 years old, and too young to be Girl Scouts yet.

Before I was a Girl Scout, I was a Brownie.  The Brownies were too young to be official Girl Scouts but once we were of age, we joined the big girls and got to wear the traditional green Girl Scout dresses.  From left to right - me, Andrea, Beth and Nicole

Before I was a Girl Scout, I was a Brownie. The Brownies were too young to be official Girl Scouts but once we were of age, we joined the big girls and got to wear the traditional green Girl Scout dresses. From left to right – me, Andrea, Beth and Nicole

5 responses

  1. Well, your alluding to a Mission: Impossible “…Dr. Lynn will disavow any knowledge of your actions” moment doesn’t hold water…! No calories… Ha!

    1. I swear…no calories! Luckily my box is gone. Thin Mints don’t last long in my house. Now I don’t have to listen to them calling me from within the cupboard!

      1. You must have excellent hearing, Dr. Lynn. 🙂

  2. Mmmmmm….I love brownies! !! Luckily for me, I am not a big fan of Girl Scout cookies.

  3. You were defiantly a cute little thing. Love the braids.

Leave a Reply

