Spring break 2015

I was going to regale you with a more detailed description of this year’s spring break trip but after I had written out a long post, something went wrong and it was deleted before I could publish it. Poor me.  I think it’s the WordPress gremlins having a little April 1st giggle.

I don’t want to try to recreate it so I’m just going to say that this year’s trip was to the mountains where we spent lots of time exercising by doing real work. This would have made my dad happy. He grew up on a farm in Oklahoma and he could never understand why I’d pay to go into a building and push heavy weight around. He’d tell me I should spend time doing something useful like hauling alfalfa or mending fences.

I didn’t mend fences but I did dig a trench for flood control, move a bunch of rocks around (for the same reason) and did some seeding…in the middle of a spring snowstorm. It was actually a lot of fun!

Surprisingly I ended up with a couple of blisters after the second day.  Even after years of weightlifting without gloves, I still managed to rub just the right spots, just the wrong way!

Surprisingly I ended up with a couple of blisters after the second day. Even after years of weightlifting without gloves, I still managed to rub just the right spots, just the wrong way!

My younger son had a blast thinking up his own projects.  He worked on them for hours out there in the trees.  I took this photo one morning.  It’s his little cache of tools he kept by his bed.

Hmmmm....what does my 11 year old like to play with?  A book about knots, a hatchet, a homemade bow, a machete, a geology hammer, a big weird fork thing, a map, a small saw., rope..and Kleenex?  A boy's treasure chest!

Hmmmm….what does my 11-year-old like to play with? A book about knots, a hatchet, a homemade bow, a machete, a geology hammer, a big weird fork thing, sticks, a map, a small saw., rope..and Kleenex? A boy’s treasure chest!

Why would he need all those tools?  Why to build a survival shelter, of course!

Hard at work on his shelter

Hard at work on his shelter

When it was completed, he took some of his tools and hid them away in there.  He stayed there with some snacks and a book for a long, long time.  He wanted to spend the night in his shelter but we didn’t have a sleeping bag and the temps were quite cold after the sun went down.  He thought it would be fine.  I vetoed it this time but warmer weather is on its way and we’ll definitely be going back soon.  Next time, I’ll let him sleep in it.

Inside

Inside

My two favorite exercise companions were with us and, as usual, we spent time walking with them and playing with them!

The morning after it snowed a little in the night.  The light looked just like that!  It was blue just as the sun was starting to come up.

The morning after it snowed a little in the night. The light looked just like that! It was blue just as the sun was starting to come up.

The snow mixed with the dirt in the yard and made MUD!  So much fun digging in that stuff!

The snow mixed with the dirt in the yard and made MUD! So much fun digging in that stuff!

One afternoon,  I looked out the window and saw some wild turkeys!  We’d been on the lookout for turkeys since my son wanted to see if he could successfully get one with his bow (the season was underway in our area).  He’d gotten his tag and had been practicing on targets at home. He was ready!  We’d planned ahead and brought all the ingredients we’d need to make a good meal with whatever he could harvest.  I sounded the alarm. He strung his bow and headed out.

wild turkeys

wild turkeys

On the hunt!

On the hunt!

Need I tell you how it turned out?  The next picture says it all….I wish it was a clearer photo but you get the drift.  Here he is returning.

Disappointed!  Every hunter knows the feeling!

Disappointed! Every hunter knows the feeling!

Turns out he was able to stalk them for a while but then they got spooked and flew over a fence and out of sight.  We didn’t eat turkey for dinner but we’ll take our ingredients back the next time we go up to the mountains.

We had a wonderful spring break this year.  We exercised doing real world tasks and got useful things accomplished!

4 responses

  1. Really enjoyed your post. Would a good ambition be to aim at wild turkey for Thanksgiving?

    1. Glad you stopped by! YES! I think it would be fantastic if my son managed to get a turkey for our Thanksgiving celebration! That would certainly make it extra special. He’s determined to harvest one so we’ll see how it goes. Hope you’re having a great week!

  2. The best in life doc ur awesome

    1. Thank you so much!! I’m so pleased you stop by now and then to visit me. Hope all is going well. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

