Celebration Of Service Friday (#14)

This letter was written by Hunter R. last year when she was 16 years old.  She wrote it for my book, Words For Warriors. Words For Warriors is a book I published with a little help from my friends.  I pass it out for free at VA hospitals/clinics, to organizations that serve veterans and I give copies to individual veterans and their families.

“Don’t be afraid of your fears. They’re not there to scare you. They’re there to let you know that something is worth it.” 
― C. JoyBell C.

Opening my eyes this morning, the first thing I saw was my room, as humble and unchanged as ever. I heard the cliché bird chirping of my alarm going off and I groaned as I forced myself out of bed. There is nothing to be afraid of in my morning. The monotony is satisfying and something that I know will stay consistent.

As a protector of this country, there is not that satisfying monotony. Waking up in a different area constantly, to new sounds and strange people, is normal. During times of fighting, fear is evident from the time your eyes open to the time your eyes close. Fighting for something you consider worthwhile is the most courageous endeavor you can face. Anyone can become accustomed to routines, but it takes a true hero to be willing to face the unknown.

As warriors, fear is not a wall, but an obstacle that can be taken over with willpower. There is nothing more valiant than to fight for what you believe in. Thank you for putting yourselves into the unknown, and being the epitome of strength.

4 responses

  1. You are a real Blessing Lynn

    1. Thank you Mess! I think YOU’RE a blessing!

  2. That was wonderfully written by a sixteen year old… as well all the other writings in your unselfish book. You did a wonderful thing, Dr. Lynn.

    1. Oh, thank you for the kind words and also for your participation! As you know this was a group effort and I’m so grateful that you wanted to contribute! I love your letter (and it’ll be featured on a Friday sometime in the future). Good news…I saved enough money to do another printing. I’m going to put it aside and see if I can get a few new letters before publishing the third group of books.

Leave a Reply

