Doing What I Want, When I Want

This is currently how I keep track of my workouts.

Current exercise plan - My boys know I keep this on the kitchen counter all week long.  Therefore they will sometimes write notes (like 'we need peanut butter') on the sheet because they know I'll see it.  Last week my younger son doodled a couple of stick figures on it !

Current exercise plan – My boys know I keep this on the kitchen counter all week long. Therefore they will sometimes write notes (like ‘we need peanut butter’) on the sheet because they know I’ll see it. Last week my younger son doodled a couple of stick figures on it !

Each week I have a minimum number of exercises to perform. Those are listed at the top of each week’s workout sheet. Some of the exercises must be performed once (walking lunges) in a 7 day period, some twice (biceps) and one of them 5 times (abs). That doesn’t mean I perform just one set of walking lunges when I do them. It means that I perform them until I feel the muscle has been sufficiently challenged. Typically, I reach that point at 5-10 sets, depending on how heavy I’m lifting. I always do one very light warm up set of approximately 20-30 reps, but I don’t count that as a legitimate set.

I perform the exercises in any order I wish, and it varies each week. When I feel strong, I’ll do many of the exercises in a single day. When I’m not feeling as strong or motivated, I might just tackle abs, pull ups and pushups.

I make an effort to leave one complete rest day each week but as you can see from last week, I don’t always make that goal. I usually finish all the required exercises on Saturday and I take Sundays off. Last Sunday I had to squeeze in some walking lunges.

The cardio I do each week isn’t included on the sheet. I walk the dogs each weekday and we don’t saunter along. We basically race walk the entire way, up and down hills. I’ll ride the stationary bike or row in addition to walking them, when I feel like it.

My walking buddies - They want to walk no matter what the weather.   When we go to the mountains in the winter, they're especially happy.  They can go for miles in the snow, no matter how deep it is.  Walking with them keeps me in good shape!

My walking buddies – They want to walk no matter what the weather. When we go to the mountains in the winter, they’re especially happy. They can go for miles in the snow, no matter how deep it is. Walking with them keeps me in good shape!

*This is a relatively new way of doing things for me. For the 23 years leading up to this point, I almost always followed a more traditional workout routine, meaning I had particular exercises I performed on specific days. That definitely worked but this allows the flexibility I crave these days. I developed this plan so that I could take advantage of my natural energy flow. I’m happy with how it’s going and I’m pleased to report that I’ve started to add a little more muscle lately.

9 responses

  1. I have been stuck in a routine that has made my workouts very blahh. I like how you are doing this. I need to liven things up so I can shock my body again.!! I Thank you for sharing this!!

    1. Hi Don! I try very hard to shake things up with my routine. If I don’t, I start to lose motivation. I’ll still do my workout but without that high energy that makes it fun. New challenges go a long way toward keeping me interested over the long haul.

      1. I totally agree. So, with your encouraging words, I am putting together a whole new routine starting Monday! Plus, with the new Circuit training course I am starting, I think I will be able to get my body going in the right direction again. Thank you Lynn!

      2. Excellent! I’ll bet you’ll have renewed energy and interest in your workouts.

  2. I thought the stick figures were you before your workout and you after your workout.

    1. Ha! I’m happy to report that I’m putting on a tiny bit more muscle these days. Soon I won’t look like a stick figure! Soon…..

  3. I want to help you by addressing the difficulty you have about sticking to a rest day. Like many training issues, gradualness is the key. I have gotten to the point that I can not only take a rest day, but a rest week. I can take a rest month. I am that advanced. Don’t try it right away, Dr. Lynn. You will need to work up to it gradually. I am an expert.

    1. I cannot afford to rest! Perhaps you forgot my very important role as President of Beau’s fan club. As his representative I may be called upon at any time to make speeches or accept awards on his behalf. It’s imperative that I be able to represent him well. Therefore I must keep myself in top condition mentally and physically!

      1. Yea, Beau does not rest much either.

Leave a Reply

