Be Careful What You Wish For

hunger-games-e-card-meme_large

This reminded me of a little conversation I had not too long ago in Target.  The cashier was checking me out and was chatting at the same time.  As she was moving items from the belt to the bag, she saw a warning label on an item I was purchasing and commented about it.  I replied that I thought it was a government regulation that dictated the warning be put on the label.  Then she said something that caught me by surprise.  She said she hated government, all government, and she proudly announced that she was an anarchist.  I took my bag and left the store.  On the way out to the parking lot, I turned to my 11 year old and told him what an anarchist was and a bit about their philosophy.

Anarchist (noun)

1. a person who advocates or believes in anarchy or anarchism.
2. a person who seeks to overturn by violence all constituted forms and institutions of society and government, with no purpose of establishing any other system of order in the place of that destroyed.
3. a person who promotes disorder or excites revolt against any established rule, law, or custom.

I explained that I knew the poor woman was…shall we say…not playing with a full deck.  My proof?  The silly, deluded, anarchist checker was about 100lbs overweight.  She could barely move her obese body around and though she was relatively young (probably about 24) you could see terribly swollen ankles and feet sticking out of the bottom of her cropped, khaki pants.  It would be safe to bet that she got winded getting from her car, into the store each morning.

If our anarchist checker got her way and all order in our society was destroyed, she’d be put in a position where she’d have to compete for the food she consumes.  She was almost immobilized in her own body. How did she think she’d feed herself?  Her “survival of the fittest” philosophy is definitely not to her advantage.  Any kind of breakdown in the food supply or distribution chain and she couldn’t make it.  Perhaps she thinks there is someone in her life willing to hunt/gather for her while she sits on her royal pillow at home waiting to be fed…but somehow I doubt there is.

My advice to her?  Be careful what you wish for.  Stop thinking about anarchy and start thinking about taking a walk around the block now and then!

3 responses

  1. Yes indeed Lynn ,thanks.

  2. Wise words, doctorlynn.

    1. Well thank you! Hope you enjoy the end of your week and that you have a lovely, relaxing weekend!

Leave a Reply

