Memorial Day – 2015

IMG_2061 Memorial day rolls around each year and each year I take a few quiet minutes over the weekend to reflect on those who gave their last measure of devotion in the service of our country.  For me, that’s not such an unusual thing.  I think about our fallen all the time.  I think about those rows upon rows of white headstones in our military cemeteries and about the men, long dead, who battled to protect the interests of the rest of America’s citizens in conflicts concluded before I took my first breath.  I think about those lost in our more current wars. Sometimes I contemplate a particular quote from George S. Patton.  He said “It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died.  Rather we should thank God that such men lived.”  I can only manage to get half of that right.  I do thank God that such men lived, but I feel an anxious tug when they pass. I think about their mothers and children…and it stings my heart. My friend, Gary Dolan, a Vietnam veteran and Army Ranger, created a touching piece about honoring the memory of the fallen on Memorial Day. He wrote “I believe our country deserves to be happy and free, because that happiness and freedom was bought with the blood of our fallen heroes. I think our fallen heroes would appreciate that our country is happy and free and would gladly accept that as a wonderful tribute to their sacrifice.” That sounds right to me. I think we honor them by living well, by being generous with each other, by showing kindness to our neighbors, by loving our families.  We honor them by appreciating the hard-won liberties we enjoy and also by doing our part to protect and extend them to future generations.

“Let no vandalism of avarice or neglect, no ravages of time, testify to the present or to the coming generations, that we have forgotten as a people, the cost of a free and undivided Republic.” (John A. Logan)

8 responses

  1. Thanks Doc. You are the best!

    1. Hi Rob! Thank you….still mulling over something you wrote to me. I’m busy ferreting out more facts (clues) and formulating conclusions. You really set me on a path of thought and I love it! I hope your week went well. It was a busy one for me since the school year was on final wind-down. Enjoy your Friday and your weekend!

      1. Wow, doc I guess that is good. Most everyone who knows me well, also knows that sometimes I say things that really don’t have a specific meaning. I hope what I said was worth all the time, energy and thought that you are putting into it.

  2. I knew you’d have a wonderful post, Dr. Lynn. Thank you for your thoughts and reverence.

    1. Thank you for stopping by to see me!

    2. Thank you for stopping by! I hope your week went well. It flew by for me since it was the last days of the school year and sports for the kids…lots of picnics and celebrations!

  3. I really enjoyed this post. The whole issue of having your “happiness and freedom ” preserved by people who give their lives to do it, is really complicated. Interestingly, I have heard on a TV programme that the war cemeteries in Europe, some of a huge size, are very little visited by ordinary people any more, because all the wives and husbands of the deceased have now themselves passed on or are too old to travel. That seems a great pity to me, although it must be said that many school groups visit the WW1 and D-Day cemeteries regularly, which is something good for the future.

    1. I’m glad the school groups still go for visits. When history goes quiet, it always spells trouble!

Leave a Reply

