Drink Up!

IMG_2751

Now that the boys are out of school and the weather is consistently hot, my mind has switched to summer exercise mode. That means my outdoor exercise activities will be pushed to the beginning and very end of the day. That way I can avoid overheating and therefore cutting workouts short, or pounding through them despite the heat but without enjoying what I’m doing.

One of the most important things I will do during these summer months is increase my intake of water. Water is a necessity whether you exercise a lot or just a little. You need to make sure you keep your body properly hydrated.

Even slight dehydration lessens your strength during workouts.  It can give you headaches, cause muscle cramps, impede efficient digestion, make you crave sugar, cause mood swings/irritability and it causes dry, older looking skin (which I, for one, can do without).

I don't need my skin to end up looking like this dried up, cracked lake bed.

I don’t need my skin to end up looking like this dried up, cracked lake bed.

Conventional wisdom dictates you drink at least eight, 8 ounce glasses of water per day. I drink more than that, especially when doing outdoor cardio in the hot months. Drinking plain, old water can get boring so I often make my own fruit flavored concoctions for a little something different. I have a big pitcher that I fill with water and fresh fruit to make delicious drinks. You can experiment to find which fruits or combinations you like best. I use peaches, strawberries, cucumbers, lemons, limes, oranges, blueberries, strawberries and grapefruits on a regular basis. I use them alone and in combinations.

Delicious...and definitely not boring!

Delicious…and definitely not boring!

You can keep a pitcher full of the fruit infused water in your refrigerator or out on the counter like I do (I don’t like very cold water). You can drink it plain or to jazz it up even more, you can pour half a glass of your fruit water and fill the rest with sparkling water for a carbonated beverage. Either way, it tastes great and makes it easy to keep yourself properly hydrated.

4 responses

  1. You are right about the value of drinking water. I have blood pressure problems and I am currently trying to lessen my intake of coffee. I have been genuinely surprised at just how harmful coffee is in terms of heart rate etc. So, I’ll be aiming at more water in future!

    1. Making sure to drink enough water is helpful in so many ways. I have to remind myself to do so since I don’t naturally drink much…but I feel so much better when I do!

  2. That water looks so nice and refreshing. I like all the combos I see these days that cleanse the body too.

    1. Sometimes just the look of the pitcher filled with a combo of fruit makes me want to take a drink! It helps me keep my water intake up.

Leave a Reply

