Begging For Attention

“Many people can listen to their cat more intelligently than they can listen to their own despised body. Because they attend to their pet in a cherishing way, it returns their love. Their body, however, may have to let out an earth-shattering scream in order to be heard at all.” (Marion Woodman)

plank1-600-x-231

It pays to keep your body in good repair.  That doesn’t mean you have to hit the gym 6 days a week or spend an inordinate amount of time exercising.  I hang out in the gym and lift because I like it.  It makes me happy.  It floats my boat.  Obviously not everyone shares the same interest or the desire for the same level of activity.

There isn’t anything wrong with not wanting to exert the kind of energy I have over the years but it’s important to keep your body moving, even if that means just taking a nice walk a few times a week.  I know many people who simply ignore their bodies but expect them to keep chugging along, problem free, for the duration.  That doesn’t happen.

The truth is, even if you attend to your physical state, you may fall ill.  The difference is in how quickly you notice, how likely you are to address imbalance or disease in a helpful way and how quickly you heal. People who think kindly about their bodies and who show it through exercise and a reasonable diet are more in sync with what’s going on physically.  Being kind to it is a manifestation of loving and caring for yourself.

Don’t make your body scream for your attention.  By the time that happens a lot of irreversible damage can be done.  Give yourself time to take care of it.  It’s in your own best interest.

heart

6 responses

  1. Allan Hamilton | Reply

    Very true words and I have been quilty.

    1. Hi there! Very glad you stopped by. Yes, we’ve all been guilty at one time or another. Sure hope you’re doing well these days. Sending you wishes for some great workouts (and just generally wonderful days) ahead.

  2. Guilty. Happily, by body and my wife can gang up on me to get my attention. 🙂

    1. Yay for your wife, sometimes a little push can be very helpful. I was needing a little kick in the hiney a bit ago. I think I’ve gotten myself back on a good trajectory. I’m very excited about a new contraption I bought….called a FitDesk. I’m going to blog about it soon. I like it a lot and it’s been a helpful (and painless) addition to my routine.

  3. It is easy for many to take their body and health for granted. So very true. Just find something you love to get you moving and get it done!

    1. I try to encourage my friends to just do a little something (when they ask). You don’t have to devote a lot of time to exercise if it just isn’t your thing but a little can make all the difference in your health. They seem to think you have to go nuts and exercise for hours a day to get any benefits.

Leave a Reply

