Don’t Stop!

Every now and then something unexpected happens that interrupts your normal routine.  If you’ve been involved in sports or fitness training over any period of time, you’ll inevitably have to train through an unanticipated injury.  I’ve been incredibly lucky over the years.  I haven’t had any big problems but I’ve had to work around a left shoulder that prevented me from heavy upper body work for a few months,  a terrible glute pull that stopped me from doing any sort of deadlifts for over a year, a couple of hernia surgeries (not caused by lifting) and the normal short-term variety of aches and pains (knee, wrist, neck).  

IMG_2938

I’ve learned that the trick is to make necessary adjustments so I don’t put additional stress on the tender parts but not to stop or severely restrict my lifting.  When I couldn’t do deadlifts because of the glute pull, I discovered that I couldn’t do lying hamstring curls either because it used some of the same muscles.  I laid off the deadlifts and the hamstring curls but did extra calf and quad exercises.  That didn’t do anything in particular for my hamstrings or glutes but it kept the rest of my legs in great shape until I could resume doing very light deads and hamstring curls.  That took a full year so I had to be patient.  To this day, I still don’t do heavy deadlifts because my previously torn glute will let me know pretty quick that it doesn’t appreciate it.  

Act like a kid.  My son fractured a bone playing soccer and we're on the way in to get a cast on his arm later today.  Has it slowed him down at all?  Nope.  I caught him with his Lacrosse stick out, ready to go play.  Kids don't give up and plant themselves on the couch when they have injuries and neither should you!

Act like a kid. My son fractured a bone playing soccer and we’re on the way in to get a cast on his arm later today. Has it slowed him down at all? Nope. I caught him with his Lacrosse stick out, ready to go play. Kids don’t give up and plant themselves on the couch when they have injuries and neither should you!

Injuries and sore joints pop up but don’t let them stop you from moving in a positive direction.  You might not be able to keep on with your normal routine but don’t despair.  If you can’t train upper body, train your lower body.  If you can’t run, try walking.  There’s always something you CAN do.  

7 responses

  1. Dang. Left shoulder. Me too. Feel better.

    1. Thank you! These days I’m in pretty good shape. I’ve learned to be keenly aware of how my body is feeling and I know not to push it too hard. The last few weeks have been so great in terms of workouts. I love it when I feel this way! Happy Sunday!

  2. Great thank you…. cardio this morning then back for some power stuff and more cardio ugh… what about you?

    1. This morning I walked my puppies (which means I walked as fast as humanly possible up and down our hills), did 15 minutes on the rower at the highest level, did my pull ups for the day and trained calves…but I have more to do before the day is over! Hope you have a good Thursday!

  3. Sound advice. I’ve been very lucky and have not had any injuries so far. I do a lot injury prevention/restorative work. It’s great to read that you can always stay active.

  4. Doc, Great blog, are you on instagram?

    1. I’m not on Instagram but I know lots of people like it. Ha…behind the times, as usual! Thanks for the kind words. Hope you’re having a lovely Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

