An Open Letter to Secretary of Defense Ashton Carter

Update – My letter was written on Friday, July 17, 2015.  At that time, it was reported that in addition to the four Marines who had been killed, a policeman had been injured and a member of the U.S. Navy had been shot and was in surgery.  There was little information about their condition at the time.  I assumed from the tone of the reports that both would survive.  On July 18th, 2015, Petty Officer 2nd Class Randall Smith succumbed to his injuries.  His death is yet another that can be added to the lengthy (and growing) list of American citizens ambushed and killed by Islamic fundamentalists.

An Open Letter to Secretary of Defense Ashton Carter

July 17, 2015

Dear Mr Secretary,

Four United States Marines are dead.  Sergeant Carson Holmquist, Sergeant David Wyatt, Lance Corporal Skip Wells and Gunnery Sergeant Thomas Sullivan were killed on Thursday, July 16, 2015 by Muhammad Youssef Abdulazeez.  Soon thereafter, you issued a statement indicating that our Marines were lost in “a senseless act of violence.”

Let me clarify the issue for you.  This act was not “senseless.”  It was purposeful.  It was an act of jihad undertaken in the name of Islam.  The attack was carried out in accordance with fundamental Islamic ideology.  It’s an ideology specifically oriented toward creating terror in order to dominate and ultimately defeat the infidel.

Infidel.  That means you, Sir.  Unfortunately, that also means me, my children and the rest of the population who do not ascribe to the same ideology.  Hence, my objection to your prevarication with regard to this matter.

As the current Secretary of Defense, you know this.  I can’t imagine that this is a new concept for you.  Therefore, I implore you to stop with the obvuscating, mealy-mouthed labeling of an obvious, Islamic inspired terrorist attack as “a senseless act of violence.”

Perhaps you’ve mistaken us for imbeciles.  Your refusal to properly and clearly define what led to the deaths of those Marines, changes nothing except to make you look pathetically weak and to shred your credibility in the eyes of the public.

I implore you; halt with the politi-speak.  Grasp your dignity around you, stand up and say it like it is.  You, Sir, owe it to me, my children, the rest of the American citizens and most of all to the memory of those four Marines.

11 responses

  1. They just don’t want to admit it – we’re being attacked by Islamic Jihadists. I hope that the next POTUS truly defends the citizenry and fights back.

    1. You’re right. It makes me mad since anyone with a pulse knows what’s going on. They have to think we’re stupid. Yes, I hope we get someone in office that actually LIKES our country.

      1. Exactly! Happy Veterans Day!!!

  2. Another great piece of writing… However, I feel it will fall on deaf ears – unless one of those killed “could have been his son”. It is a terror attack. Period.

    1. Thank you! I figure it’ll never be seen but I feel better writing my thoughts down. It helps keep me calm…and able to maintain my sweet demeanor. Ha…

  3. Oh my beautiful spider monkey how I have missed you! Your letter is spot on and, as always, well written. It is sad enough to lose my brothers while deployed, it should NEVER happen at home. The actions (or lack thereof ) to this terrorist attack is shameful. God bless you and yours and God bless this great nation!

    1. LISHIE! You came back! You know I’m so happy you popped by. I always think about you (and keep you in my prayers).

      MmmHmmm….you know I’m happy I have my writing as an outlet otherwise I might burst into flame at times. Ha…funny thought…if it was like a superpower and I didn’t get singed. It would be quite dramatic!

      Sending you wishes for wonderful, easy days…

  4. Great letter. Unfortunately, the recipient is part of an administration that claimed a movie caused the violence at Benghazi. I don’t know why it is so difficult for them to call it like it is — another terrorist attack by Islamic jihadists.

    1. Thank you! Yes, my recipient is one of the many who are entirely consumed by PC nonsense (whether they use it willfully to deceive or they really believe the things they say is hard to discern at times). Yeah…a video…that was one of my favorites. They really do have great disdain for us….although a lot of people bought that ridiculous story.

  5. An extremely well-written letter, my friend … every word of it true. What I anticipate we will find, however, is that Ashton Carter nor anyone in this administration gives a damn what we think. Can you hear my teeth grinding?

    May I also say that you flatter me by your presence at my blogs. Thank you.

    1. Thank you! I know the administration doesn’t give a damn what we think. I’m sure they wish we’d just vaporize. I’m glad I have a way to express myself even if nobody ever reads it. It allows me to blow off some steam and therefore allows me to stay sweet like I am. Ha, ha. Plus, there’s only so much a good Zinfandel can do. I’m always delighted when I find kindred spirits whether in person or in cyberspace. It’s a lovely thing to know you have company in the world. Wishing you a lovely start to the week. Keep swinging!

Leave a Reply

