Hit The Weight Room, Ladies!

12

This is a silly meme but it actually does contain a relevant message, particularly for women.  I hear women say they want a tight, toned body all the time but that they don’t want to lift weights for fear of looking “bulky” or “too muscular” or “like a man.”  I always assure them that isn’t going to happen.  In order to really put on enough mass to look that way, they’d have to pursue a very purposeful, properly designed, mass-building, lifting and nutritional program.  It definitely won’t happen by mistake!

A toned female body IS a muscular body.  They are one and the same.  You can lift to your heart’s content and unless you mean to pack on mass that will give you the physique of a bodybuilder, physique competitor or even a professional bikini competitor, you won’t.  Contrary to what they think, It’s very hard to do.  It requires intentionality that they clearly don’t have.

I happen to like a more-than-just-toned female physique.  I guess that’s why I’ve spent so many hours/months/years in the gym actively trying to add those lovely (big) muscular curves I love so much.  Even with supreme effort, I’ve never been able to pack on or maintain as much mass as I’d like.  That’s how I know that it’s not going to just happen because a woman dares touch the iron.  Plenty of women lift a lot and end up with a nice, jiggle free, toned physique as a reward.

I’ve come to the conclusion that most of the time, when women say they don’t lift because they just want to be toned but not bulky, it’s really because they don’t want to put in any hard work.  Lifting looks like hard work (and it is) but it’s the best, fastest way to get toned that I know.

9 responses

  1. “…jiggle free”. Nice descriptive!

  2. Hopefully, this will perhaps inspire some women who have been hesitating to give it another go!

    1. Yes, I hope they join me in the weight room. The results come very quickly so if they give it a chance, they’ll probably end up loving it!

  3. Love, love, love the image header you have here. 🙂

    1. Thank you! It made me smile. Glad you stopped by. Hope you’re having a wonderful week so far!

  4. Great Post! Female body builders take years of constant struggle to put on the muscle mass they have and yet some women think that by lifting a kettle bell or some dumbbells 3 times a week they are going to wake up looking like Arnie! I really don’t understand the logic! Although on a positive note I see so many more women lifting in the gym now than I did about 5 years ago!

    1. I see more women in the weight room too. It’s very nice to have the compay…and the new ladies are always so happy to see those great results!

  5. Totally agree. I’ve been trying to get my wife on board for years. She’s just now coming around.

    1. I think she’ll really like it if she gives it a chance.
      She’ll see results and that is highly motivational!

Leave a Reply

