Tiny Things

cupcake-without-sprinkles-diet

That’s right, diets can be very hard.  I don’t want to diet…ever…and you probably don’t either.  That’s why it’s in your best interest to stay within reasonable range of what you like to see when you look in the mirror.  There’s really no reason to stray more than a few pounds of where you’re most comfortable.  Gorging yourself with lots of calories over an extended period of time may seem like great fun but if you care what it does to your physique, it’s just not worth the result.  You have to work much harder to take lots of pounds off, and exert a lot more self-control than if you just made small adjustments on a daily basis.

I call it doing the “tiny things.”  For me that means forgoing salad dressing.  I don’t like it that much so it’s an easy thing to give up.  As far as I’m concerned salad tastes good without it, especially if you add a little shredded carrot.  One tiny thing like not putting dressing on my daily salad goes a long way.  When I eat pie, which is pretty rare, I know that the part I really like is the crust.  Therefore, I get a normal sized slice, cut off a bit of the tip and squeeze some of the filling out.  I give that part to someone else (I never lack for volunteers) and eat my slice with less filling.  It still tastes delicious and I get my treat but I eat a little less of the part I’m not as fond of.  It’s a tiny thing but it’s still significant.  If I want a baked potato and I have a choice, I’ll take the smaller one.  If I want potato chips, I buy a little lunch-sized bag instead of trying to handle self-serve out of a big bag (portion control tends to go out the window when I’m faced with an abundance of delicious chips).

All the tiny things add up over the long run.  Once you make it a point to look for places to cut out calories that you won’t even miss, you’ll find lots of places to do just that. It’s not hard to do, you don’t suffer at all and it’s a heck of a lot easier than letting your physique get so out of hand that you have to try a more traditional (and much more difficult to stick to) diet plan.

So yes…getting a cupcake WITHOUT extra sprinkles is actually a good idea!

10 responses

  1. Let’s get together for pie. I’ll eat the fruit, and you can have the entire crust.

    1. Yes let’s! We’d be perfect pie eating partners!

  2. I totally agree. I drink close to 3 cups of coffee a day depending on the day. So a while back I just omitted putting sugar in my coffee and use very little milk. I’m all for the lunch size bags of chips I can put a normal bag away by myself without any problem. It’s all about portion control.

    1. Yes! Portion control is key…and I’m always looking for those easy things I can do to help me keep myself together. You and I are birds of a feather when it comes to chips. I love those things and could eat a big bag, no problem!

  3. Small changes, huge impact. Since I started cutting out sugar in my coffee I have noticed a difference in my shape.

    1. Yes, sugar is definitely addictive, and you can lose your taste for it, actually, relatively quickly

      1. So true! It’s not as bad as I thought.

    2. Isn’t it amazing how such a small thing can have a big effect? I’m always looking for very little (and painless) changes I can make.

  4. Good advice! Progress is a long-term process and starving yourself will only do just that- starve you. Moderation is key! 🙂

    1. That’s right! I’m part of the “no starvation crew.” Not gonna do it! I love to eat way too much and I don’t believe in making myself suffer unnecessarily.

Leave a Reply

