Progress Report – September 2015

“Some quit due to slow progress, never grasping the fact that slow progress IS progress.”

That’s a saying that floats around the fitness community and it’s meant to remind us that any progress is good.  I agree.  I’m a big proponent of celebrating all the tiny improvements we make, whether it’s lifting an extra pound or running a minute longer.

I’m also learning to celebrate no progress.

That’s right!  I have come to the conclusion that steady state is also to be appreciated.  Holding back the decay (I amuse myself with use of that word) and aging gracefully is also a triumph.  At this time in my life, I’m content to continue the way I am.  I don’t want to lose any more muscle and I don’t want to see a decrease in strength but I’m not terribly concerned with visible improvement.  I’m pretty happy with my physique so if I don’t see marked differences in my progress photos over time, I’m not going to be discouraged at all.

That’s not to say I won’t make efforts to get bigger and stronger, just that I won’t be disappointed if I don’t.

I’ll just keep going and having fun!

Progress photo from this weekend

Progress photo from this weekend.  Ummm….I DO like those striations in my chest…perhaps I’ll work to keep those!

18 responses

  1. I can appreciate ‘aging gracefully’! The body deteriorates a bit but your determination pushes on. Yes, sometimes ‘maintaining’ week to week is a victory. And while you can’t get all the rock hard curves you once had you have to look at your peers of your same age and younger and know you still rock in the gym and take pride in your fitness and health….and actually I found as you get older your fitness stands out more, even though its not as youthful as it once was….cause nobody else’s is either.

    1. I think you’re right. As you age fitness does tend to stand out more. I think because so many just throw in the towel completely. I’m not interested in that lifestyle. Besides the wonderful side benefit of just staying physically together, regular exercise is SUCH a stress reliever. It keeps me happy!

  2. Oh there are just no words… except stunning, beautiful, classy and amazing just to name a few

    1. Aw Lishie, you’re like a wonderful ray of sunshine. I love your visits!

  3. So proud of all your hard work Lynn

  4. You look amazing and slow progress is progress! I have to remind myself of that.

    1. It sure is…and I have to keep that in mind too. I always want to see instant results! Happy weekend to you!

  5. You look amazing! Keep it up. Your regular posts are an inspiration (and very easy on the eye). 😉 Always look forward to your posts.

    1. Hello…and thank you! I’m a ham, can you tell? So glad you stop in now and then. Hope your week went well and I’m sending you wishes for an excellent weekend!

  6. “slow progress IS progress”. I fully agree. I am currently doing physio after an operation, and at the beginning I couldn’t lift my foot more than an inch from the ground. Two weeks later, it is four inches, and while it won’t get me into the Paralympics, it gets me up a flight of stairs without too many problems.

    1. A lot of people just give up if it’s slow going. Just pushing a little against limitations will see great results over time. The trick is not to get impatient. Glad to hear that your recovery is going well!

  7. Seriously … I need to spend more time in the woods.

    1. There are Spider monkeys out there! Wishing you a wonderful and relaxing weekend! Glad you stopped in…and thank you for the sweetness.

    1. Thank so much! I hope you had a good week…enjoy the weekend!

  8. looking fabulous as always Doc

    1. Thank you so much! Hope your Friday is ending on a nice note. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

