Wrestling As Exercise

What did I do for exercise this morning, you ask?  I wrestled and pulled and pushed.  I didn’t want to.  It wasn’t voluntary.  It was a husky production.

The culprits

The culprits

Anyone familiar with the personality of huskies, knows they have minds of their own…which I like…most of the time.  Today was not one of those times.  My rotten  sweet darlings forgot all their manners.

As we were happily and calmly walking along the street, we came upon two men who were distributing door tags around the neighborhood.  Now my rotten sweet darlings, know full well who belongs in our neighborhood and who is a new person to be examined and explored.  The men distributing the door tags looked as if perhaps someone had picked them up off a downtown street corner and paid them a few bucks to take the advertisements around.  They were unkempt to say the least and my rotten  sweet darlings were determined to make their acquaintance.  I didn’t share their enthusiasm…and so began the wrestling match.

My dogs are big but more than that, they’re strong (in body and mind).  They wanted to go meet those guys and I wanted to walk quickly past.  I tried to pick up the pace and they would walk a couple of steps then refuse to budge.  I pulled the leash to encourage them to see it my way and they sat down.  It was a war of wills (and muscle).

Needless to say, I did get my way in the end and we continued on our walk, during which time, they displayed exemplary manners as per usual. I did notice my heart rate was rather high right after the incident so I suppose I could thank them for some extra cardio.  Uh…no.

lovemydogs

7 responses

  1. Thank you Lynn,love ya girl !

    1. Hi there! So glad you stopped by. I hope your week is ending on a great note. Have a wonderful, relaxing weekend!

  2. I laugh often when I think about you walking those big dogs…what a sight it must be. You are correct, wrestling is a great exercise. ..

  3. They are beautiful dogs though, even if, just occasionally, their behaviour might not be quite what you want!

    1. They are wonderful companions! We have new and interesting adventures every day. Happy weekend to you!

  4. Following your last post, your title for this post is very possibly the greatest tease since “Hindenburg Disaster.” 🙂

    1. Ha…luring them right in! Come closer…closer still! Sending you wishes for a lovely, relaxing weekend!

Leave a Reply

