Cheers!

IMG_4035

There are some nutritionists and fitness gurus who advocate avoiding alcoholic beverages entirely which, if you enjoy a drink or two now and then, is understandably difficult particularly during this season of celebration.

I don’t hang out with those people!

That’s a little joke.  I have many friends who abstain from alcohol and many more who do not.  A long time ago, my fellow teachers and I would enjoy a little tequila on Fridays (after school, of course).  We called it “teacher medicine.”  Believe me, after three solid weeks of rain when our kids were stuck inside and couldn’t run off any of their copious energy, we not only appreciated – we NEEDED – our bit of medicine.

These days, tequila is off the menu for me.  As a matter of fact, the only alcohol I drink is wine and very little of that.  I like it but it doesn’t really like me very much.  Now and then I’ll have a half glass or so but that’s about my limit.  More than that and I just don’t feel myself the next morning.  I can’t say why I’m so sensitive but that’s the way it is so I don’t push it.

As far as holiday imbibing goes, I say you’re better off steering clear of mixed drinks (like Pina Coladas) because they usually contain so much sugar.  A couple glasses of wine or some spirits at a party isn’t going to make or break your nutritional plan, as long as you recognize that alcohol is a treat, like a small slice of cake or a scoop of sorbet.  You can even have a glass of wine every night without a problem if you treat it like a dessert (in terms of sugar content/extra calories).

My nutritional plan is all about sustainability.  I typically don’t remove anything from the menu entirely.  Food and drink are a pleasure. As long as you think carefully about what you’re putting in your body and you aren’t expecting it to run well on a bunch of chemicals, sweet treats and junk, you can indulge now and then without torpedoing your health.

8 responses

  1. Such a timely article as many may be enjoying their libations now. I love how you stated, “think of alcohol as a treat like cake.” When I began to do this it made me really cognizant. I try to only drink wines with low sugar content and now typically on occasions.

    1. Aw…thank you for the emoticon. I LOVE it!

  2. Good advice, thank you. Have a lovely Christmas, and I hope Santa brings you and yours lots of lovely presents!

    1. Thank you! Merry Christmas to you, your family and friends!

  3. 😉

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Doc; our best to you and yours; may God mightily bless everyone you love.

  4. I completely. It’s about being reasonable with yourself and not denying yourself too much! I have lots of nutrition / wellbeing bits and bobs on my blog, I would love for you to take a look!

    http://brewsker.com

    1. Well hello! Happy Tuesday…glad you stopped by. I will definitely check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

