Friday…

Last year I did a “Celebration of Service” post each Friday.  This year, I’m going to shake things up on this blog a little.  I’m not sure if I’ll end up posting more or less often.  Even though Friday won’t be set aside specifically for military appreciation themes, those posts will always appear, just on a more fluid schedule.

Before we jump full bore into the 2016 blogging year, I’m going to tie up some lose ends from a most wonderful Christmas break.  The boys had quite a bit of time off from school so we packed up and took a trip to be with family across the country.

One of the highlights of the trip, besides getting a chance to hang out with relatives, visiting and eating was stopping by a retirement home for veterans on Christmas Eve.  I’m pleased to say it was very clean, decorated beautifully and we got a very warm welcome when we dropped by.  I delivered a copy of the book I compiled (with the help of my friends) called Words For Warriors.  It was enthusiastically received and I’m happy that I had a token of appreciation to leave there with the residents.

Helo

I got to visit a veteran’s retirement home on Christmas Eve and was delighted to leave a copy of Words for Warriors for the residents. The visit was pure pleasure!

helo1

Taking a close up look at this Cobra

20151128_084310

We woke up to fresh snow one morning…so pretty!

20151126_085143-1

My younger son set to work showing his cousins how to build an outdoor shelter. He’s just getting started in this photo but managed to put together a really great final product. His youngest cousin helped gather materials for the shelter and they worked for a long time making it nice.

2016-01-08 10.33.54

Baking gingerbread cookies with his shelter-building partner…yum!

20151229_114334

My son’s sweet, little cousin made cute tree and star cut out cookies. These are some of my son’s creations. He explained that one gingerbread man had taken the heart out of the other gingerbread man’s chest. He wanted red glazing to enhance the effect. His little cousin pretended to be horrified by his cookies but she laughed the whole time!

20151225_105511-1

My beautiful puppies outside playing with one of their Christmas presents. They got some stuffed animals, some bones and some Chicken Noodle soup (Progresso), which they LOVE!

2015-12-28 13.01.35

My older son and cousins playing around…

I hope you’ve had a lovely start to this shiny, new year!

13 responses

  1. His shelter is fantastic. If I can find this other book about survival training I’ll send it to him Lynn

    Have a great, Blessed day dear friend

    1. He’s pretty good at getting something reasonable up and he can do it efficiently in a wooded environment. He likes to take his tools and head out. He can happily spend a whole morning outside by himself making shelters etc. Not too long ago he made an oven of sorts by digging a hole, filling it with rock on a platform made of sticks. When the fire burned the wood, the hot rocks collapsed inward and voila! A makeshift oven…pretty cool.

      Happy Monday! Hope you have a wonderful start to the week.

  2. You rock with Words for Warriors, Doc… Bravo and Happy New Year.

    1. Happy New Year!! I hope 2016 is off to a great start for you. You know why Words for Warriors became a reality? Because of kind, patriotic people like you. I just had an idea but you helped me put the whole thing together. I’m forever grateful for your participation and I know the readers of the book are as touched as I am by the wonderful letter you wrote.

  3. What’s not to like, Lynn – wonderful family you have there!!

    1. Thanks so much! My older son is off to college in the not to distant future. He likes to tell me that he’s not coming back to see us very often. He’s going to be so “busy.” These family breaks are precious and may be few and far between in the future. We all had a great time.

      Happy Saturday to you!

    1. Thanks! Happy Saturday to you. I’m off to do some rowing this morning (on the machine). Looking forward to a good workout!

      1. Have a great one, Dr. Lynn!

  4. Wonderful pix Doc … although I think the second picture is a Cobra … 🙂

    1. What? Cobra?!? Well of course it is. I was just seeing if anyone was paying attention. *smile* Duly noted and corrected….thank you.

      I hope you’re enjoying a good start to 2016. I’m enjoying reading your work, as always. Happy Saturday!

  5. Looks like you guys had a wonder Christmas and New Year holiday. I had to work but still had a great time with family and counting out blessings through the past year even still.

    1. I really treasure these long vacation breaks with the boys. My older one will be off to college soon so these family moments are very precious to me. Glad to hear you enjoyed Christmas and the New Year celebration. Happy Saturday…hope you have a relaxing weekend!

Leave a Reply

