Push Ups, Pull Ups and Squats

KNtNPpOeGjeurVncFxUjcFrFeSdqTiuLwqgw-610xh

I was on vacation last week so I didn’t do my regular gym thing.  I was quite content to do the minimum amount of exercise to keep me feeling happy.  I consider push ups, pull ups and squats my “must do” exercises.  Even when I’m busy and don’t have a lot of time or I’m away from home, I make it a point to squeeze those moves in over the course of the day.  It’s not hard to find a few seconds to do a set of squats.  You can do one in the morning, one at lunch and one at the end of the day before bed.  My goal is to complete at least three sets of ten reps of each of the Big Three (for five out of 7 days…weekends I take off completely).  At the end of the week, without much effort at all, I’ve put in 160 reps of each exercise.  That’s nothing to sneeze at.

…and yeah, it was vacation so I did eat chocolate each and every day.  There was a French restaurant I went to one night that had a lava cake that was simply divine. The other nights, I found brownies or chocolate cake on the menu.  As you know, I believe in sustainable diets.  My little chocolate indulgence on vacation made me happy…and now I’m content to limit my intake for the next little while.  It’s all about balance!

3 responses

  1. These indulgences make sustainable healthy eating a realistic lifestyle. I agree with you completely; it’s all about BALANCE!

  2. I wonder what units we should be measuring willpower and determination with. Incidentally, we too have the expression “it’s nothing to sneeze at”. What a bizarre image that is!

    1. “Personal Power Units!” Ha…I don’t know but I love it when I’m powered up. It feels so good. When I’m lacking, it’s hard to even think about doing a good workout. That’s when you have to call on your reserve Power Units. Ha…..

Leave a Reply

