What’s New?

There’s a fairly popular sport you’ve probably never heard of.  It’s played on college campuses across the nation and there are plenty of people who take it very seriously.  I’d never heard a thing about it until my son introduced me to it…and informed me that he’s going to try out for the team when he heads off to college in a few months.

It’s called Quidditch. Sound familiar?  Yes, the same Quidditch that Harry Potter played in the J.K. Rowling series.  Yes, that game where they fly around on broomsticks!

QUIDDITCH

11/13/11 5:22:02 PM — New York City, New York BU Quidditch Keeper Brendan Stack (CAS ’14) runs with the quaffle towards the hoops versus College of Charlestown on Sunday, November 13th. Boston University Quidditch beat Charlestown 110-50 to advance to the Sweet 16 of the International Quidditch Association World Cup which was held on Randall’s Island in New York City. Photo by Max Belin for Boston University Photography

Quidditch is being played by young men and women all across the country.  The school my son is attending is nationally ranked…and he wants to join up!  Yet another point of proof that we’re a family of nerd-aletes (nerd athletes).

outside

Me with my soon to be Quiddich player!

There’s actually a contingent of players pushing hard at the national level to make Quidditch an Olympic sport.  Who knows, we may see guys and gals riding broomsticks for Team USA one day in the future.

HowToPlay

You aren’t allowed to whack another player with your broomstick although that would certainly draw the crowds.  On a serious note, you do have to have considerable athletic ability to do well in the sport.  It’s a non-stop activity with lots of running and bumping involved!

Logan Anbinder, Matthew Bunn, Ahmed Al-Slaq

Silicon Valley Skrewts’ Logan Anbinder, center, drives to the goal between the University of Ottawa Quidditch team’s Matthew Bunn, right, and Ahmed Al-Slaq during a scrimmage at the Quidditch World Cup in Kissimmee, Fla., Friday, April 12, 2013. Quidditch is a game born within the pages of Harry Potter novels, but in recent years it’s become a real-life sport. The game is a co-ed, full contact sport that combines elements of rugby, dodgeball and Olympic handball. (AP Photo/Phelan M. Ebenhack)

 

9 responses

  1. You should of seen my daughters eyes light up when I told her that this was an actual college sport! She is opposed to physical activity, regardless of my attempts to sway her otherwise. Maybe this will do the trick…

    1. It’s getting more and more popular. She’ll probably be able to play in a league soon. It’s catching on at an incredible rate. Hmmmm….if only female Quidditch players got to wear some awesome, sparkly shoes, we’d have her for sure!

      Happy weekend beautiful Lishie!

  2. That is amazing Lynn

    1. I always imagined him playing football or soccer…or running track but never “flying” on a broom. Lol…crazy. They really made a sport out of it and it’s actually a challenge. The kids take it seriously and they even recruit for their teams. I’ve never attended a Quidditch game/match so I’m looking forward to seeing something new.

  3. Ah yes, Quidditch…. I was still working when Harry Potter books were just coming out. Many of us were surprised at attached we became to those kids! Best of luck to your son – keep your eye on the Gold!

    1. I love the idea of playing Quidditch except for the part about trying to hold a broom between my legs with one hand while I’m trying to cut and run and hold a ball. I don’t think I could stand the frustration…which also explains why I don’t golf. I’d be the one throwing my broom or my golf club down in a fit. Ha, ha…

      Happy weekend to you!

  4. I think JK Rowling may well become the first woman to invent a sport. I can’t think of anyone else who has.

    1. Come to think of it, I think you may be right. I can’t think of anyone else who has either. I think I’d be so frustrated, trying to play while holding the broom between my legs. It makes for some awkward moving (but everyone is in then same boat). I still haven’t seen a live match so I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

