Progress (4-29-2016)

The other day I was looking down at the top of my legs when I was rowing and I made the assessment that I was getting too fluffy.  The first place jiggle shows up on my body is my hips (kinda like the saddlebag area).  The rest of me isn’t showing a problem…yet.   I made the decision, right then and there, to increase my cardio in order to de-fluff.  That’s the way I do it.  If I see a potential problem looming, I address it while it’s still easy to head off.  I’m not a perfectionist, I’m a realist.  What I always keep in mind is that it’s far easier to tighten up when you’re dealing with shedding 2-5lbs than it is to wait until you have 20 or more to lose.  A 20lb fat loss seems much more daunting and I don’t want to have to put that much effort into it.  Goodness knows, I want to take the easier fitness path when I can!  I suggest doing the same to anyone who asks how I stay relatively lean all the time, year after year.  Don’t wait until teensy, hardly noticeable unwanted gains turn into big, fat, hard to deal with problems.  There’s no reason to wait and you only make it hard on yourself if you do.

Lynn

Selfie from yesterday

 

23 responses

  1. Great selfie! Do you compete or are you a recreational lifter?

    1. Hi!

      I was on vacation and am just now catching up on my email. I’m delighted you stopped by.

      I’ve never competed although I know many people who do…and I admire their dedication and commitment. I just love lifting. I find it calming and I enjoy competing against myself. At this point, I’ve been lifting for about 25 years. What can I say? I’m a gym rat. Lol.

      Hope you’re enjoying your lifting these days. It’s obvious from your photos that you’re a hard worker. Your work ethic shows. Nicely done!

      1. Thank you and I am so glad you love what you do 🙂

      2. It keeps me stress free and HAPPY! I’m sure you know what I mean…

      3. I do and in glad it does that for you 🙂

  2. Mmmm, look at my beautiful spider monkey! I have once again (with my doctors blessing ) started to FINALLY be able start some low key cardio. I just have to make sure that I don’t over do it again. You are fabulous and, as always, I adore you! Be good and I will talk to you soon.

    1. I’m very happy to hear that you’ve been cleared to do a little bit. Hear that? LITTLE bit…don’t go to hard too fast. Spider monkey speaks! Lol

      It’s warming up so that makes me happy. I like to do exercise outside but I’m wimpy and only like it when it’s warm.

      Wonderful Lishie…I’m sending you hugs and wishes for lots of happy, sunny moments in the days ahead!

  3. * Gorgeous (and I haven’t even had a glass of wine yet)

  4. I don’t think I shall live long enough ever to see you acquire 20lbs of fat!

    1. I’m going to do my best to see that never happens. With my frame 20lbs would look like a lot more. Poor roly poly!

  5. Just wondering what is when you do it, is your go to choice for cardio?

    1. I usually start taking my dogs on longer walks (or on two instead of one each day). I’m currently loving the row machine but in the past I’ve enjoyed the stationary bike. I don’t have access to a stair master but I always defaulted to that machine in the earlier days. That’s such an excellent workout.

      Hope all your workouts are going well and I’m sending you wishes for a perfect weekend! Glad you stopped by.

  6. We sometimes can be are own worst critics. But let me just say, I don’t see any fluff!;) One of these days, when I get right, I’ll post a pic.

    1. Make sure to take photos all along the way. Sometimes it’s hard to see progress when we’re looking day to day but if you take a photo now and one in a month, you can see all that hard work showing. It’s very motivating.

      Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

  7. If you got fluffy – it must be you earlobe or somewhere, because I don’t see an ounce of body fat.

    1. Thank you Eric! Happy Friday to you. Sure hope you had a good week both in and out of the gym. I’ll be going to lots (3) of my son’s lacrosse games this weekend and my older son’s track meet so lots of fun sports on tap. Wishing you a wonderful couple of days ahead!

  8. Did I just read that correctly ? More cardio ? I never thought I’d hear those words come from you Lynn. So really you’re just getting ready to run an ultra marathon with me. You knew I couldn’t resist. 😀
    Hope you and the boy’s have an incredible Blessed weekend

    1. Ultra marathon? I’m working on being able to complete mile 3! I’m pretty sure that means I’m almost ready for the full monty. Ha!

      Happy weekend to you too! I’ve got back to back lacrosse games (Saturday and Sunday) and a track meet on the schedule. Oh…and my own cardio too, of course.

  9. Sexy abs with a smile as well Lynn

    1. Well thank you! I’m going to make it a point to up the cardio so I can keep those abs. The tick for me is to make sure I don’t lose all my muscle at the same time.

      How are your workouts going? Are you happy with your progress?

      Have a wonderful weekend over there!

Leave a Reply

