Happy August!

Oh my!  it’s August, which means that summer for the kids is just about over.  Both of them start school this month.  My oldest will be heading off to college (he already got a head start by taking a couple courses at a junior college this summer) and my “baby” will be moving into middle school (7th grade).  They do have a couple weeks of summertime fun left to enjoy but I can see the end of their carefree days from here.

The transition of summer into fall means I inevitably return to a more standard workout schedule.  The days lapse into a routine and so does my lifting.  I like it.  I’m a creature of habit so although the “catch as catch can” workouts of June and July are refreshing in a way, I love chugging along during the school year with regular intervals for my fitness pursuits.

Leopard Boots

Progress photo 

As most of you know, I changed my routine around significantly several months back.  As a result, I’ve lost some muscle mass which I’m still struggling to accept.  I could go back to my heaving lifting days and tweak my eating a little to hold onto more muscle but my joints are much happier these days and my enthusiasm for workouts is holding steady. The heavy lifting was taxing my motivation level quite heavily in the year or so before I made the changes.  Right now, although I miss a more muscled physique when I look in the mirror, I know what I’m doing is sustainable into the future…and isn’t that the whole point?

Wishing you warm and joyful days as we head into a brand new month!

16 responses

  1. Hello beautiful,you look great to me Lynn.

    1. Thank you so much! I won’t complain BUT you know lifters…we’re greedy. We always want more muscle!

      Hope you’re doing well and enjoying these pretty summer days. Fall will soon be here…

  2. You’re still very Blessed Lynn

    1. Yes, and I count those blessings often!

      Hope you’re having a good week. My sister is coming for a visit soon (with her kids) so I’m looking forward to that.

  3. Love the boots! Why is it that mothers still see adult people of perhaps 30 years of age as their “baby”? And they all do it. Perhaps you never stop being a mother!

    1. That’s precisely it! You never stop being a mother. The lady across the street is about 85 years old and very frail. When her sons stop by (they’re in the late 50’s) she loves to cook for them and fuss over them just as she always did. I guess you never stop wanting to take care of your “kids.”

      Happy Wednesday! I hope you’re having wonderful days as summer comes to a close.

  4. Well my beautiful spider monkey, first off, diggin’ the boots! They fit your personality. Still trying to find the happy place between my war torn joints and my what my mind thinks I can do, which is causing way to many delays. It is hard to accept limitations due to reasons beyond ones control. I noticed that you are as refreshing to my eyes as always! August? ! It is,my birthday month, I will be 26…again! Do you want my list, or do you know what I want? Lol! My kids start school tomorrow, they are excited (well, at least my daughter is ). Have a great day, thank you for being you and I will talk to you soon!

    1. I agree, I’m not good with accepting limitations. My mind sometimes says “Yes” when my body is telling me “Look, knock it off or else!” Ha…monkeys have hard heads but luckily I AM capable of learning. That’s why I had to change my workouts around and focus more on the lighter weights. It still chaps my hide at times but I’m better able to keep up the current routine and that’s a good thing. Of course, I still want to jump in there and lift like a gorilla a lot of the time. Ha.

      Birthday month! Birthday month! Yay! I love celebrations. Wow…I’ve been around for quite a few of your birthdays. Isn’t that crazy? I have to say, this year is just streaking by…

      Hope you’re having a good week. You’ve got “back to school” even earlier than I do! Wishing you (and your family) a fantastic start to a new school year!

  5. Looking gorgeous Lynn. Keep up the great work. I reading your posts and your support of us military veterans and police officers.

    1. Hi there and happy Wednesday! I’m so pleased that you take time to read my posts. I know every minute is valuable and it means a lot that you spend some of them reading my blog. Yes, military veterans and police officers have my heartfelt support!! Wishing you a lovely afternoon!

  6. Lynn, you look amazing. I don’t know about losing muscle mass, but I can say that your definition is there, and to me, that’s what really matters most. OK, now the personal question. How on Earth do you walk in those boots? I would have fallen right on my face. 😉

    1. Helllooo there and good afternoon! You’re very kind and I appreciate it greatly. You always brighten up my day. My boots? I DON’T walk in them. Those are “sitting shoes.” Ha, ha…they’re entirely impractical and only good for staying in one place but I like them anyway!

  7. Tommy R. Staley | Reply

    You look amazing and you do carry plenty of muscle. Be well.

    1. Thank you! That was a lovely compliment. I’m really enjoying these last days of summer with the boys but I’m also looking forward to cool autumn weather and a normal workout routine. Hope all is well in your world!

  8. You’re looking great! Keep it up and keep posting pix. I know you’re an inspiration to all of us who aspire to greatness. 🙂

    1. Thank you for putting a big smile on my face this afternoon. What a nice thing to say. It’s been a crazy, fun, busy couple of months and although I had a great time, I’m looking forward to the fall (cooler weather, more routine days).

Leave a Reply

