Running With The Dogs

My huskies are my favorite cardio companions.  They’re always eager to go out for long walks and more recently for kinda-sorta runs.  I can’t truthfully claim that we actually run since I’m pretty sure our pace doesn’t meet the standard but we trot along happily when we get to flat spots in the road on our adventures.  

For the longest time, I’ve had a bit of trouble with the female.  She wants to pull.  When I say pull, I mean she’ll strain against the leash to the point that she’s got the collar pressing on her trachea and she ends up breathing like Darth Vadar.  I figured that couldn’t be comfortable and that she’d learn not to do pull so hard eventually.  I was wrong.  I was talking about the issue with a friend of my older son’s and he told me they had experienced the same thing with their dog but had solved it by getting a harness that goes around the dog’s body and attaches to the leash via a ring at the chest instead of having the leash attached to the collar.  I wasn’t confident it would work since huskies are bred to pull and that’s what they wear on the sled when they pull heavy loads.  It seemed to me that the harness would make it much more comfortable and easy to pull (I envisioned myself flying along behind her like a kite in the wind)  but I decided to give it a try.  

Quelle surprise!  It actually worked!  I’m dumbfounded as to exactly why, since once I got the harness on her, she didn’t even TRY to pull.  It’s not like she gave it a go and got negative feedback.   We walked all over the place and she happily came along like a normal dog.  No straining, or yanking my arm out of the socket.  It was miraculous and wonderful. Little Miss (the black and white pup) is a happy camper and so am I!

20160806_115718

My dogs are always eager for exercise time.   Here they are with their new harnesses. They get so excited while preparing to go out, that keeping them from running in circles and getting tangled up in each other’s leashes is a challenge!

5 responses

  1. Two beautiful dogs!!

    1. Thank you so much. They’re fantastic companions. I love having them to walk/run with. They enjoy it so much and that makes me look forward to exercising even more.

  2. I would never have considered that issue with huskies, but it makes complete sense. They are dogs who pull. Glad the harness worked.

  3. I love running with my dog – makes a big difference and gets them some good exercise too!

    1. It’s turned out to be such a wonderful thing for all of us. I get my exercise and so do they. I also feel much safer than if I was walking or running alone. They’re great companions!

      Glad you stopped by and I hope you’re having a great week.

Leave a Reply

