Progress Report

I’m just completing week five of Jim Stoppani’s 12 week plan.  So far, so good.  I have a few thoughts regarding my experience so far.

I don’t know if anyone else would notice changes in my physique but I see subtle changes that I’m pleased with.  I can’t say that I’m aware of a lot more muscle mass accruing but I’m most definitely seeing a tightening in my physique and a rounding of my muscle.  In other words, I’m less stringy which is a step in the right direction.  

me

The diet portion of the program is easy to follow.  I get plentiful food and eat many times a day so I typically don’t get hungry.  On the couple of occasions when I want to eat between meals (always after leg day), I eat a few nuts and that tides me over.  The nutritional plan is built around a man weighing approximately 200lbs so I just cut the portions in half and that has proven to be a good way to handle the caloric intake for a person my size.  This plan does not include room for “cheat meals” so I’ve added space for them on my own.  Those meals usually fall on the weekend when my youngest requests pizza for dinner.  I don’t deny myself a few slices.  If I were planning to compete at the end of the 12 weeks, I’d forgo the cheat meals but that’s not on the docket so I think having one or two off-plan meals a week is just fine.

One challenge I’ve run into is that I don’t have heavy enough dumbbells at home  to increase the weight on certain exercises.  I’m currently doing 50lb one armed dumbbell rows and that represents the heaviest dumbbell I have.  I’ve done rows with 60lbs in the past so I know I’ll max out my weight next week which is way before I max out my body.  I’m currently seeking a solution to this problem.  I don’t really want to buy heavier dumbbells unless I find some cheap ones on Craig’s list.  I might have to make a stop at the gym just for that particular exercise.

I’ve subbed out a couple of the recommended exercises to make things easier.  The lying triceps extensions posed problems for me.  The dumbbells I have are large at each end and managing that exercise without hitting myself in the face or popping my earring out (yes, that happened) while maintaining proper form wasn’t working.  I simply switched to another tricep exercise for that rotation.  The incline bench press was a problem too because of the way my bench and bar are oriented.  They’re welded together so I can’t scoot the bench farther under the bar which I needed in order to get the weight off the rests and into position.  The rests are too far behind my head to get the weight up safely so I substituted dumbbell presses.  

I’m enjoying this program.  It’s a relief to let someone else to design and plan my workouts for a while.  I’ve been creating my own for many years so this is refreshing.  I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with my physique over the next few weeks.

12 responses

  1. Lynn, you’re looking really good! For the record, I had to look several times to notice the hat. 😉

    1. Thank you. I’m about halfway through the program so we’ll see how I look in the final analysis. Even if I don’t make big changes, I can see little ones already. It will give me a good base to work on.

  2. Ahhhhh….my favorite hat : )

    1. We LOVE that hat! Lol…it’s my favorite. Not too long ago I added another pin to it. I’ll have write about that sometime. I’m fond of all three pins but, of course, the Marine Corps one is my favorite because it was a gift and that makes it particularly precious.

      Happy Sunday over there. Hope your week gets off to a great start!

  3. I wish I had your willpower or even half of it, really!

    1. I do give myself some wiggle room since I don’t want to live an austere life full of challenging exercise, optimally healthy food and nothing else. I do love seeing the results of weight training and reasonable nutrition so that’s what keeps me on track.

      Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend and that you have a great week ahead!

  4. I thought I did notice some changes when I clicked in and you’re looking great. I finally started a gym program and it sure isn’t as easy as it looks!! I was whining on Dr. Jonathan’s site the other day… the abs I thought had entirely been insulated with fat were screaming and my thigh muscles have a few choice words when I try to do – well – anything! I give you a ton of credit for sticking with all this.

    1. Isn’t it amazing how sore you get when you start to make those muscles work? It happens to me too. When I started this new program, I was doing exercises I hadn’t done in ages and my muscles let me know! One day my triceps were so sore, it hurt to close the car door when I got out at the grocery store. Ha…it means we’re working hard (and making progress)! Happy Sunday!

      1. Thanks for the encouragement!!

  5. To me, it would not matter if you were in your first week out last week, you are fine as frogs hair! Just speaking the truth 🙂

    1. Didn’t proof read before I hit post. But you get the picture 🙂

    2. “Frog’s hair!” I love it. Thank you for the compliment. Hope you’re having a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

