The Bad Maid (#1)

Fall is my favorite season and it’s here full force.  I love the cooler weather, the colors of the season, comfort foods bubbling on the stove and of course, the fall holidays.  I generally start decorating for Halloween on September 15th…for the children.  It’s for the children!

I picked my  costume early, then had the bright idea to create a thematic series of photos featuring it.  I call them my Bad Maid photographs.  They crack me up because the remind me of my youth.

My mom worked full time.  She was a chemist and very active in the community so she was quite busy.  She relied on my sister and I to do our share of the housework.  Sadly, as a teenager I wasn’t the best cleaner in the world.  As a matter of fact, it would be accurate to say I was often quite lazy.  I rarely did an excellent job, so the Bad Maid is, in an amusing way a real reflection of myself during those years.  When it was my turn to clean, I’d always do the vacuuming correctly (but I wouldn’t move the furniture to get underneath it) since you could see clear evidence if I did a shoddy job.  I knew my mom would know if I didn’t do that job reasonably well.  I couldn’t hide it.  However, when it came to dusting, I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t lift a finger.  I’d wait until right before my mom came home and spray Lemon Pledge into the air so it would smell like I’d actually done some work.

I’m sorry now that I wasn’t more helpful at that time in my life.  Believe me, I bet my mom laughs from above when she sees me fussing at my boys for things like dumping dirt out of their shoes in the downstairs hallway (and then leaving the shoes there so I trip over them), tracking mud through my freshly mopped kitchen or finding a giant bucket full of little yellow BB’s spilled all over the carpet.

In the spirit of Halloween, and my misspent youth, I present the first of the Bad Maid photos.

bad-maid-cleaning

Who needs a dustpan?

 

11 responses

  1. Hello Lynn , love your Halloween costume. My house needs cleaning also, could get to it one day soon? LOL Great progress keep up the good work.

  2. and u would not be fired nice

    1. Hi there! Thank you. I had fun taking those photos. I kept thinking about stuff I actually did when I was supposed to be cleaning as a teenager!

      Wishing you a wonderful, happy day!

  3. My beautiful spider monkey,
    Here is your classified…

    House trashed? Have a in home gym? If you answered yes to both questions, I am the maid you are looking for! You will come home to a beautifully vacuumed home and the air smelling of lemon pledge. Rest assured, your home gym will be well used….er, I mean cleaned and your shower will be still wet from a good cleaning! Give me a call!

    Your are looking more fantastic each day, still looking forward to seeing your program progress. As always, I do adore you my beautifully bad maid spider monkey! !!

    1. Ha, ha…that made me laugh! That’s the perfect classified ad for me.

      I’m sincerely enjoying the new plan I’m on. It’s really easy to follow. I’ve even learned a couple new exercises! I can’t say I see dramatic differences in my physique but I definitely see some. This is week 7 so we’ll see how I look at the end. I’m already thinking about what I’m going to do after week 12. I might just start the rotation all over from the beginning but starting with the heavier weights.

      I hope all is well in your world. It’s my favorite time of year…pretty fall! My puppies and I walk all over the place looking at the trees turning colors.

      Sending you wishes for a perfect day!

  4. Lol! I love the costume. You look awesome! My mom always said, “wait until you get your own place. You’ll see what I mean when I tell you to sweep and vacuum.” She was right!

    1. I know just what you’re talking about! I hear my mom when I’m fussing at my boys to do a better job with their chores. Funny how what goes around, comes around!

  5. I never saw a maid with a muscle in her upper arm like that before!

    1. I will tell you something funny. One day, a few years ago, a lady asked me if I did manual labor. I told her I was a teacher and she said “Oh, but your arms are so muscular!” I laugh whenever I think about that. Ditch digger….

  6. OMG, Lynn, you look adorable in that costume! I love it!

    1. Aw…thank you! I really did clean like that when I was a teenager. Well, not in the outfit but I definitely cut corners whenever I could!

Leave a Reply

